Skip to main content

British Literature: British Literature

Mrs. J. Bolanos-Cadenas

British Literature: Researching Literature, 2015

Project Description

Researching literature provides us with an opportunity to explore a work more deeply, to achieve a better understanding of a literary text.  For this assessment, we will focus on 17th & 18th century writers and the movements/ideologies that influenced their work:

John Donne, “Holy Sonnet 10” (Metaphysical Poetry)

John Milton, Sonnet VII (Puritanism)

Amelia Lanier, from Eve’s Apology (Women/Gender in the 17th Century)

Alexander Pope, from An Essay on Man (Neoclassicism)

Each of you will be assigned one poet and one of that poet’s works.  You will analyze the assigned poem, determine its meaning, and research the poet’s background to consider how his/her life and the movements/ideologies inspiring that poet provide a deeper understanding of the meaning and purpose of a poet’s work; that is the aim of this exercise.

You will follow selected steps of the research process outlined in the “Researching Literature: 101” packet (attached in Moodle).  The project will culminate in a group presentation where you will: 1) teach your classmates about the work and life of your assigned poet; 2) lead the class through an analysis of one of your poet’s works; 3) demonstrate how researching your poet’s background enriches your understanding of the selected work.

For rubric, see attached.  For due dates, see Moodle.

Image result for jennifer bolanos cadenas image

British Literature Web Resources

Google Search Tips and Google Scholar

Get More Out of Google (HackCollege)

The entertaining and informative infographic supplies tips to "get more out of Google." Created by contributors of HackCollege (www.hackcollege.com).

John Milton

Amelia Bassano Lanier

Library Databases and How to Cite Them

Databases can be accessed at school or at home. See librarian for username and password to access databases at home.  The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

Search Tips and Videos - JSTOR

These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise. 

  1. Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "Charles Dickens").
  2. Use AND to narrow your search results.  Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results.  Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
  3. Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
  4. When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.

JSTOR

John Donne and Amelia Lanier

   

Alexander Pope