Skip to main content

General Science: GENERAL SCIENCE

General Science free sources

Environmental Outlook - PODCAST

Tuesday, Feb 03 • 11 a.m. (ET) - Diane Rehm Show

Environmental Outlook: The Race Against Pests And Weeds

Killing weeds or Intergrated Pest Management? (CLICK ON Listen )

Pesticide resistance is an urgent problem for agriculture. The latest chemical solutions have some groups concerned about ecological consequences. For this month’s Environmental Outlook: weighing new approaches to controlling pests and weeds.

NEW BOOK - Environmental Studies

SEARCH TECHNIQUES

Recommended Resources

American Men and Women of Science : a biographical directory of today’s leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences. 23rd ed., 2007

National Academy of Sciences (U.S.) Biographical memoirs. National Academy Press, 1877.

Title is available electronically through Gale General One File or I suggest to do a Publication List search.

Biographical memoirs of fellows of the Royal Society

   Preceded by Obituary notices of fellows of the Royal Society, 1932-1954. Both titles are available electronically through JSTOR.

  • Gale Research Virtual Library 
    Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals

FLU SEASON - INFORMATION - 2018

GENERAL SCIENCE - E-RESOURCES

Science News from the Science journal (AAAS) American Association for the Advancement of Science. Free weekly newsletter.

Nature News from the (NPG) Nature Publishing Group.  Free weekly newsletter.

Science News,  "magazine of the society for science and the public",  available from JSTOR, however up to 2 years behind online.

New Scientist, the magazine, from Reed Business Information, Ltd. (Elsevier, ScienceDirect). Free weekly e-newsletter.

Today in Science History  Entertaining. Keeps a calendar of birthdays of famous scientists, as well as yearly major event anniversaries in Science (Ads present)

Today in Science News (Ads present)

Reuters News  Reuters.com is a source of all categories of news, perhaps particularly business and financial.  Here are the sci-tech subdivisions:

Seed Magazine home, and Latest issue.  From Seed Media Group, Montreal

Physics World (link to journal) -- a community website from IOP, the Institute of Physics. UK. A weekly newsletter is available:  http://physicsworld.com/

Physics Today American Institute of Physics, College Park, MD. Daily news is available.

Center for Disease Control (CDC) https://www.cdc.gov/flu/index.htm

Chemical & Engineering News C&E News is the magazine's homepage.

American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) There are news feeds and society newsletter, and BioScience Magazine.

Discover (is a magazine for the public about) "science, technology and the future".  has podcasts.  Carrollton subscribes to the print.  

National Geographic  Reports news daily. National Geographic Society, Washington, DC. Print copies available at Founders.  Available in full text (online) from EBSCO.

National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, National Research Council -- Advisors to the nation on science, engineering and medicine.  Friday newsletter, What's New at the National Academies is a free subscription.  Top articles from PNAS. Books from National Academies Press.  Podcasts and News feeds are available.

National Science Foundation -- grant opportunities, research news, alerts, science & engineering statistics

NPR Science Friday  with Ira Flatow.  Podcasts, blogs, videos.  SciFri is even in Second Life!

 University of California.  Science Today  Science Today is a one minute, 5 X/week radio program carried on CBS affiliates and produced by   UC.  Topics feature scientific breakthroughs. Full articles are provided in the archive dating back to 2007.

OSTI hosts this interagency collaboration of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 federal agencies.  Launched in 2002, Science.gov is a gateway to over 2,100 scientific websites, 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information that can be 

Science.gov 

Daily research news...

ScienceDaily

NASA's WOMEN STEM

NASA's Women of STEM

Flask and colorful science symbols

Meet some of NASA’s women engineers, scientists, educators, interns and others.
›  View site

NASA Earth Observatory

MIT - HIGHLIGHTS FOR HIGH SCHOOL

NASA EDUCATION - EDUCATORS AND STUDENTS

NASA.gov

EVERGLADES - MAP

DAILY WEATHER

IN THE CLASSROOM

DATABASES - SCIENCE

  • PubMed Free database that searches citations, abstracts and provides some full-text to articles in the life sciences and medical fields. Interlibrary loan will be required to access many of the articles discovered through this resource.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals Provides free searchable access to approximately 400,000 open access scholarly articles from

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS - MLA CITATION

  1. If you choose to use any one of these resources in your paper, please recognize the author's creation and "cite" the resource in your bibliography - as your source.

Maps

Your Inner Fish

The author, a paleontologist and professor of anatomy, follows the path of evolution by linking the organs of the human body with the physical attributes of non-human ancestors.