Skip to main content

FRESHMAN SUCCESS WEEK LIBRARY ORIENTATION!: Home

Founder's Library #1

Google or Databases?

DATABASES A-Z

Welcome Freshman!

Image result for welcome new students image   

CARROLLTON STUDENTS 

Welcome to Founders



WHAT WE WILL DISCUSS TODAY!

1) About Founder's Library!

 http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

  • Navigating the library - at school/at home
  • LC Call Numbers
  • Check out books
  • Print/Scan

2) Content and Resources?

http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

3) How can you apply library resources to your studies?

http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

FAQ'S

The Libraries at Carrollton – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)

Students visit the library to read, ask the librarian questions, learn library skills and to do research.  Books can be checked out for two weeks and returned to Founder's on or before the due date.  Books may be renewed online for one additional week.  Students who do not return their books on time may still use the library to browse and enjoy books in the library but not checkout.   Overdue notices are sent to each student once a week via their email account..  

A book is considered lost if a student or librarian cannot find the book on the shelf.  Replacement notices generally go out before the end of the school year.  Overdue notices are sent weekly with the price on the notice.    A book is considered lost if overdue for longer than one month.  No replacement books are accepted.  The library purchases all books. If the book is found at a later date with no damages, then the cost of the book will be refunded.

Who may use the library?

The Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart Library is a private research facility.  Use of resources, services, and collections are reserved primarily for enrolled students, faculty, and staff. 

Library hours are:

Founder's Library                   Monday – Friday        7:30 am – 6:00 pm 

Taylor Hall Library                Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

El Jardin Library                   Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

Primary Library                     Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

 

Quiet Room, Main Area, and the Reading Room for study?

Students and Faculty share the Quiet Room.  The Quiet Room is a total-silent-room.  if you want to study together or talk softly it would be preferable to study in the Main Area - at the desk or the round tables.  Always leave your area clean and tidy for the next person..  Sometimes, there will be a meeting in the Reading Room. Most of the time you can study in the surrounding area using soft voices.  If a private meeting is scheulded you will be asked to come back at a later time.  

May I eat or drink in the library?

No. The library does not allow food or beverages except water in a covered container.  

May I use my cell phone in the library?

No.  The Library is a classroom.  Not using a cell phone in the library, is the same as the classroom.  If you choose, you may bring your phone into the library after school and keep it on vibrate mode only.  All calls must be taken outside the library.

How may we connect to electronic databases from off-campus?

Carrollton provides remote access to all electronic databases

http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

What can I borrow and renew?

Most Library materials circulate and may be renewed in person, or online through the catalog. Some Library materials are designated as non-circulating such as reference, or reserves, or those in Special Collections and the Archives. Loan policies vary by School.

Checkout Limits

Checkout limits are unique to each School.  Consult the online catalog system or Librarian.

Replacement Fees

Patrons will be charged the original cost of the item found in the overdue notice.

Suspension of Borrowing Privileges

Patrons may not check out items if they have overdue books or outstanding replacement book fees.

Faculty and Staff

Checkout procedures for faculty and staff are the same as for students. 

Checkout Procedure

A self-checkout-tutorial poster is available at the Founder's Library.  At the Taylor Hall Libraries, faculty or a librarian will check out books for the students; at the Oak Room Library at El Jardin and Primary School library, a faculty or librarian will assist the students.  Sometimes policies for loaning, renewal, requests and overdue books are different at each library.  Check with the librarian.

Students should report any damage to library materials when checking out the item -  to the librarian.  

 Overdue Notices Procedure

Overdue notices are automatically run once a week.  A notice will go out to the student and faculty (via their email account, weekly).  For the lower grades  notices are distributed via email to the homeroom teacher and parent.

 What technology is available to students who use the library?

Computers, scanner, photocopier, and wireless access

What is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism is the use of other people's work without giving credit through a citation or bibliography reference. It is subject to disciplinary action.

 

 

 

 

SURVEY - PLEASE TAKE!

Library Orientation Survey

1. Give the date and period you attended this orientation. 
2. Is this your first year at CARROLLTON? 
3. Today's orientation helped me learn how to do better research in the FOUNDERS library. 
4. How do you feel about the amount of information presented in today's session? 
5. How likely are you to ask the librarian for assistance in the future? 
6. What research skills would you like to know more about? * Choose all that apply 
  •  
7. How could the librarian improve orientations in the future (e.g. speaking louder, offering clearer examples, covering less material, etc.)? 
8. What was the most important thing you learned today? 
9. What materials and resources would you like to see added to the library? (e.g. books, periodicals, computers) 
10. What kinds of books would you like to see in the library? (Check all that apply) 
  •  

Questions? #1

Materials located in Founder's Library are arranged by what classification system?     

Library Call Numbers & Stack Location

Library of Congress - Call Number Locations

A

Stack 1 - General Works

B – BD

Stack 1 - Philosophy

BF – BQ

Stack 1 - Psychology; Ethics, Religions

BR – BX

Stack 1 - Religion, Christianity

Goal 1 Sacred Heart Spirituality

Stack 1 - Religion, Christianity

CB, DU

Stack 2 - History of Civilization, World History and History of Europe, History of the Americas

E, F, G, HN

Stack 3 - History of the Americas, Geography, Anthropology, Recreation, Social Sciences

HQ - , J, K, PRO Teacher Education,  M – ML,  N, OVERSIZE BOOKS

Stack 4 - Economic History and Conditions, The Family, Marriage, Women, Political Science, Law, Professional- Education, Music and  Music Education, OVERSIZE, Fine Art

NC780 - , OVERSIZE BOOKS

Stack 5 - Fine Art, OVERSIZE

P40 - PR6037

Stack 6 - Philology & Linguistics, Modern Languages, Romance Languages, English Language, English and American Literature

PR6037 - PT9876

Stack 7 – Fiction

PZ1 - PZ7, Q115 - RA 576

Stack 8 - Fiction, Science, Public Aspects of Medicine

RA, S, T, Z6207

Stack 9 - Public Aspects of Medicine, Agriculture, Forestry, Aquacuture, Technology, Information, Languages, Books on Reserve, Florida Collection

Reference, Atlas, CD & DVD’s, New Books

Stack 10

Periodicals

Back Wall & Flipster

Current Newspapers

Back Wall

Suggestions: Developing a Research Question

 

From topic to question:

  1. Identify controversies or open-ended questions from your research. This can help guide you to areas you would like to further explore.
  2. Formulate the question. Think in terms of “how” or “why” (to what extent. . .). Remember to keep it focused to 1 question that is open-ended to leave room for exploration.
  3. Try using a 3 part statement: what you are writing about (topic), what you want to know about it (question), why you want to know about it (beginning rationale)
  4. Evaluate your question. Think of the “so what?” factor. Is this a question that will add to other people’s understanding or interest them in your research?

 

A good research question:

  1. Defines the investigation
  2. Sets boundaries
  3. Provides direction

 

Research questions must always take into account:

  1. The parameters of the assignment
  2. Your ability to get supervisory support
  3. Research opportunities and availability

 

Watch your research question grow

Narrowing, clarifying and even redefining your research question will become necessary as you develop your understanding of your subject. As you read, you will develop new ideas that will then inform the direction you take with your research question. This process takes time! You may have to re-evaluate or even change your question for a variety of reasons, so don’t try to start the night before the essay is due. Think of it as an evolution – your question should develop a narrow, clear focus as your understanding of the subject grows.

 

Is this question right for me? – Think of your question in terms of the following: can the question hold your interest through 40 hours of work? Can you manage any biases or assumptions you have about the topic? Am you willing and able to put in the necessary work to answer this research question?

 

Good Question Checklist:

1.    Is the question in the right field? Does it relate most closely to an IB/AP subject I am studying?

2.      Is the question well articulated? Are the terms well defined? Are there any unchecked assumptions? Was I focused on the question?  

3.      Is the question feasible? Do I have access to the resources to answer my question?  Can information be collected in an attempt to answer the question? Do I have the skills and expertise necessary to answer the question? Will I be able to answer the question within the time constraints? Are there any potential financial costs I need to be aware of? Are there any ethical issues involved?

4.    Does the question get my supervisor’s seal of approval? Does my supervisor think I’m on the right track? Do ‘experts’ in my field consider my question important and feasible?

Adapted from http://www.sagepub.co.uk/resources/oleary/

SEARCH TECHNIQUES

I DID IT!

Charlie Brown Linus Library.png

POP QUIZ? (From OSU)


 
POP QUIZ

GAME TIME!

 

See if you can survive in Zombie Cure.

 

Take the Zombie Cure Quiz to see how well you learned the research strategies in the game.

 

 

wise words...