This is the "GENERAL SCIENCE" page of the "General Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Science free sources
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=644255 Print Guide RSS Updates

GENERAL SCIENCE Print Page
  Search: 
 

Environmental Outlook - PODCAST

Tuesday, Feb 03 • 11 a.m. (ET) - Diane Rehm Show

Environmental Outlook: The Race Against Pests And Weeds

Killing weeds or Intergrated Pest Management? (CLICK ON Listen )

Pesticide resistance is an urgent problem for agriculture. The latest chemical solutions have some groups concerned about ecological consequences. For this month’s Environmental Outlook: weighing new approaches to controlling pests and weeds.

      
     

    NEW BOOK - Environmental Studies

    Cover Art
    Chasing the Red Queen - Andy Dyer
    ISBN: 9781610915199
    Publication Date: 2014-12-18
    In the race to feed the world’s seven billion people, we are at a standstill. Over the past century, we have developed increasingly potent and sophisticated pesticides, yet in 2014, the average percentage of U.S. crops lost to agricultural pests was no less than in 1944. To use a metaphor the field of evolutionary biology borrowed from Alice in Wonderland, farmers must run ever faster to stay in the same place—i.e., produce the same yields...

    Cover Art
    Nature's Trust - Mary Christina Wood
    Call Number: KF3775 .W589 2014
    ISBN: 9780521144117
    Publication Date: 2013-09-30
    Contents: "You are doing a great job" -- Modern environmental law : the great legal experiment -- The politics of discretion -- Behind the grand facade -- The administrative tyranny over nature -- The inalienable attribute of sovereignty -- The ecological res -- Fiduciary standards of protection and restoration -- From bureaucrats to trustees -- Beyond borders : shared ecology and the duties of sovereign co-tenant trustees -- Nature's justice : the role of the courts -- Nature's trust and the heart of humanity -- Using earth's interest, not its principal -- The public trust and private property rights -- The new world : a planetary trust.

    SEARCH TECHNIQUES

    Standard Biographical Dictionaries

    American Men and Women of Science : a biographical directory of today’s leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences. 23rd ed., 2007

    National Academy of Sciences (U.S.) Biographical memoirs. National Academy Press, 1877.

    Title is available electronically through Gale General One File or I suggest to do a Publication List search.

    Biographical memoirs of fellows of the Royal Society

       Preceded by Obituary notices of fellows of the Royal Society, 1932-1954. Both titles are available electronically through JSTOR.

    • Gale Research Virtual Library 
      Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals

    Sip of Science

    Sip of Science

    POSTED BY
    Ana Acle-Menendez

    Every third Wednesday of the month, the Miami Science Barge opens its door to an older audience for its evening lecture series, Sip of Science.

    The event’s name stems from the two pillars of the event: a brief scientific lecture and an open bar for guests over 21 years old. Guests 18 and older are welcomed.

    The informal environment is great for promoting science communication and connection with the scientific community in Miami — and the view is fabulous.

    Invited speakers are local scientists who are engaged in research on topics in the natural sciences and sustainability. Quench your thirst for knowledge with a sip of science. Please help them reduce waste and bring your own cup.

    Sept. 21: Dr. Paul George discusses the history of Biscayne Bay.

    $10-$15. 7-9 pm. Click here for tickets.

    Dr. Paul S. George is a native Miamian who holds a PhD in history from Florida State University. Dr. George is a professor of history at Miami Dade College, Wolfson, and resident historian for HistoryMiami Museum. He is a past president of both the Florida Historical Society and the Lynn and Louis Wolfson II Florida Moving Image Archives. The author of 15 books and more than 200 articles, Dr. George conducts more than 50 different historical tours of Miami and southeast Florida, the most popular of which is his boat tour along the Miami River.

    Miami Science Barge

    Organizer of Sip of Science no. 005: Jamie Theobald, November 16

     

    sip-no-004-OCTOct. 19 :  Dr. Paul Gray discusses Everglades Restoration and more.

    Dr. Gray is Audubon Florida’s Lake Okeechobee Science Coordinator. He has been working in this area for more than 20 yrs. and his educational background includes a BS from University of Missouri, an MS from Texas Tech. and a Ph.D from University of Florida in 1993. Among his awards are the John Kabler Grassroots award from Everglades Coalition and the Audubon of Florida Staff member of the year.

    $10-$12. 6:30-8:30 pm. Click here for tickets.

    The Miami Science Barge, 1075 Biscayne Blvd., located in the back of Museum Park. 305-912-3439.

     

    WHEN
    Monthly on the 3rd Wednesday @ 7:00 pm-9:00 pm(starting August 17, 2016)
    COST
    $10.00
    WHERE

    Museum Park

    1075 Biscayne Blvd
    Miami, FL 33132

    VISIT WEBSITEGET DIRECTIONS

        

      Daily research news...

      ScienceDaily

      NASA Earth Observatory

      NASA's WOMEN STEM

      NASA's Women of STEM

      Flask and colorful science symbols

      Meet some of NASA’s women engineers, scientists, educators, interns and others.
      ›  View site

          

        MIT - HIGHLIGHTS FOR HIGH SCHOOL

        SUBJECTS

         EXAM PREP

        • MIT - HIGHLIGHTS FOR HIGH SCHOOL
          Guide for Teachers and Students
          Learn more about how to integrate Highlights for High School materials into your teaching, see examples of how others are using it, and read our FAQs.

        NASA EDUCATION - EDUCATORS AND STUDENTS

        NASA.gov

            
           

          GENERAL SCIENCE - E-RESOURCES

          Science News from the Science journal (AAAS) American Association for the Advancement of Science. Free weekly newsletter.

          Nature News from the (NPG) Nature Publishing Group.  Free weekly newsletter.

          Science News,  "magazine of the society for science and the public",  available from JSTOR, however up to 2 years behind online.

          New Scientist, the magazine, from Reed Business Information, Ltd. (Elsevier, ScienceDirect). Free weekly e-newsletter.

          Today in Science History  Entertaining. Keeps a calendar of birthdays of famous scientists, as well as yearly major event anniversaries in Science (Ads present)

          Today in Science News (Ads present)

          Reuters News  Reuters.com is a source of all categories of news, perhaps particularly business and financial.  Here are the sci-tech subdivisions:

          Seed Magazine home, and Latest issue.  From Seed Media Group, Montreal

          Physics World (link to journal) -- a community website from IOP, the Institute of Physics. UK. A weekly newsletter is available:  http://physicsworld.com/

          Physics Today American Institute of Physics, College Park, MD. Daily news is available.

          Chemical & Engineering News C&E News is the magazine's homepage.

          American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) There are news feeds and society newsletter, and BioScience Magazine.

          Discover (is a magazine for the public about) "science, technology and the future".  has podcasts.  Carrollton subscribes to the print.  

          National Geographic  Reports news daily. National Geographic Society, Washington, DC. Print copies available at Founders.  Available in full text (online) from EBSCO.

          National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, National Research Council -- Advisors to the nation on science, engineering and medicine.  Friday newsletter, What's New at the National Academies is a free subscription.  Top articles from PNAS. Books from National Academies Press.  Podcasts and News feeds are available.

          National Science Foundation -- grant opportunities, research news, alerts, science & engineering statistics

          NPR Science Friday  with Ira Flatow.  Podcasts, blogs, videos.  SciFri is even in Second Life!

           University of California.  Science Today  Science Today is a one minute, 5 X/week radio program carried on CBS affiliates and produced by   UC.  Topics feature scientific breakthroughs. Full articles are provided in the archive dating back to 2007.

          OSTI hosts this interagency collaboration of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 federal agencies.  Launched in 2002, Science.gov is a gateway to over 2,100 scientific websites, 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information that can be 

          Science.gov 

          EVERGLADES - MAP

          DAILY WEATHER

          IN THE CLASSROOM

          DATABASES - SCIENCE

          • PubMed Free database that searches citations, abstracts and provides some full-text to articles in the life sciences and medical fields. Interlibrary loan will be required to access many of the articles discovered through this resource.
          • Directory of Open Access Journals Provides free searchable access to approximately 400,000 open access scholarly articles from

          INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS - MLA CITATION

          1. If you choose to use any one of these resources in your paper, please recognize the author's creation and "cite" the resource in your bibliography - as your source.
          • MLA Formatting and Style Guide
            MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

          Maps

          • 15 subway-style maps that explain everything but subways
            15 subway-style maps that explain everything but subways. Subway maps are indispensable. They show us, with incredible clarity, how to get from one place to another, boiling down transit to its essentials. But when subway maps are applied to other things — like parks or food — they serve a very different purpose, revealing relationships and features that were hard to see before. Here are 15 subway-style maps that explain just about everything.
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip