This is the "New Books and Library Collections" page of the "New Books and Library Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books and Library Collections  

Find a book in the Founders Library collection, see what new books are available and popular, suggest a book to add to the collection, and access best seller lists and book reviews.
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=646834 Print Guide RSS Updates

New Books and Library Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Interested?

Cover Art
In the Kingdom of Ice - Hampton Sides
Call Number: G530 .J37 S53 2014
ISBN: 9780385535373
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
A dramatic account of the ill-fated 19th-century naval expedition to the North Pole cites the contributions of German cartographer August Peterman, New York Herald owner James Gordon Bennett and famed naval officer George Washington De Long in the team's efforts to survive brutal environmental conditions.

Cover Art
So We Read On - Maureen Corrigan
Call Number: PS3511 .I9 G83196 2014
ISBN: 9780316230070
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
"A literary love letter... [Corrigan's] tone is lively and bright and her enthusiasm for the novel is infectious. You'll feel as if you're attending a lecture by your favorite prof or chatting with a brainy, bookish friend. Bursting with intellectual energy and fun facts, this paean to the 'great American novel will appeal to fans of Corrigan's book critiques and Jazz Age scholars, and will, one hopes, impel readers to pick up the brief work for the first (or fourth, or 14th) time."— Library Journal (Starred Review)

Cover Art
The New Jim Crow - Michelle Alexander
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2013
ISBN: 9781595581037
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
From Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. Contrary to the rosy picture of race embodied in Barack Obama's political success and Oprah Winfrey's financial success, legal scholar Alexander argues vigorously and persuasively that [w]e have not ended racial caste in America; we have merely redesigned it. Jim Crow and legal racial segregation has been replaced by mass incarceration as a system of social control (More African Americans are under correctional control today... than were enslaved in 1850). Alexander reviews American racial history from the colonies to the Clinton administration, delineating its transformation into the war on drugs. She offers an acute analysis of the effect of this mass incarceration upon former inmates who will be discriminated against, legally, for the rest of their lives, denied employment, housing, education, and public benefits. Most provocatively, she reveals how both the move toward colorblindness and affirmative action may blur our vision of injustice: most Americans know and don't know the truth about mass incarceration—but her carefully researched, deeply engaging, and thoroughly readable book should change that. (Feb.)

Cover Art
Texts from Jane Eyre - Mallory Ortberg
Call Number: PN6231 .T565 078 2014
ISBN: 9781627791830
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Presents imaginary text message conversations with classic and modern literary figures.

Cover Art
The Half Has Never Been Told - Edward E. Baptist
Call Number: E441 .B337 2014
ISBN: 9780465002962
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
"Historian Edward Baptist reveals how the expansion of slavery in the first eight decades after American independence drove the evolution and modernization of the United States"--OCLC

Cover Art
The Disappearing Spoon - Sam Kean
Call Number: QD466 .K37 2010
ISBN: 9780316051644
Publication Date: 2010-07-12
From Publishers Weekly
Science magazine reporter Kean views the periodic table as one of the great achievements of humankind, "an anthropological marvel," full of stories about our connection with the physical world. Funny, even chilling tales are associated with each element, and Kean relates many. The title refers to gallium (Ga, 31), which melts at 84ËšF, prompting a practical joke among "chemical cognoscenti": shape gallium into spoons, "serve them with tea, and watch as your guests recoil when their Earl Grey ˜eats™ their utensils." Along with Dmitri Mendeleyev, the father of the periodic table, Kean is in his element as he presents a parade of entertaining anecdotes about scientists (mad and otherwise) while covering such topics as thallium (Tl, 81) poisoning, the invention of the silicon (Si, 14) transistor, and how the ruthenium (Ru, 44) fountain pen point made million for the Parker company. With a constant flow of fun facts bubbling to the surface, Kean writes with wit, flair, and authority in a debut that will delight even general readers.

Cover Art
Who's in Charge? - Michael S. Gazzaniga
Call Number: QP360.5 .G396 2011
ISBN: 9780061906107
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
"The "father of cognitive neuroscience" makes a powerful and provocative argument against today's common wisdom that our lives are wholly determined by physical processes we cannot control"--

Cover Art
The Violinist's Thumb - Sam Kean
Call Number: QH437 .K43 2012
ISBN: 9780316182317
Publication Date: 2012-07-17
"As he did in his debut bestseller, The Disappearing Spoon, Sam Kean educates readers about a facet of science with wonderfully witty prose and enthralling anecdotes....Kean's thoughtful, humorous book is a joy to read." -- Publishers Weekly

Cover Art
Your Inner Fish - Neil Shubin
Call Number: QM26 .S58 2008
ISBN: 9780375424472
Publication Date: 2008-01-15
Fish paleontologist Shubin illuminates the subject of evolution with humor and clarity in this compelling look at how the human body evolved into its present state. Parsing the millennia-old genetic history of the human form is a natural project for Shubin, who chairs the department of organismal biology and anatomy at the University of Chicago and was co-discoverer of Tiktaalik, a 375-million-year-old fossil fish whose flat skull and limbs, and finger, toe, ankle and wrist bones, provide a link between fish and the earliest land-dwelling creatures. Shubin moves smoothly through the anatomical spectrum, finding ancient precursors to human teeth in a 200-million-year-old fossil of the mouse-size part animal, part reptile tritheledont; he also notes cellular similarities between humans and sponges. Other fossils reveal the origins of our senses, from the eye to that wonderful Rube Goldberg contraption the ear. Shubin excels at explaining the science, making each discovery an adventure, whether it's a Pennsylvania roadcut or a stony outcrop beset by polar bears and howling Arctic winds. I can imagine few things more beautiful or intellectually profound than finding the basis for our humanity... nestled inside some of the most humble creatures that ever lived, he writes, and curious readers are likely to agree. Illus. (Jan. 15)

 

NEW BOOKS in Founders /eBooks & Audio...Click on title to check availability

Image result for new york public library signage

Cover Art
Alan Lomax - Ronald Cohen (Editor)
Call Number: ML3551.L65
ISBN: 9780415938556
Publication Date: 2005-04-03
A collection of writings by folklorist Alan Lomax, spanning his career from 1934 to 1997.

Alexander Hamilton - Ron Chernow
Call Number: Overdrive
Available in ebook and audio book. Check out more new titles on Overdrive.

Cover Art
Blood and Sand - Alex von Tunzelmann
Call Number: E835 .66 2016
ISBN: 9780062249241
Publication Date: 2016-10-11
"A fascinating behind the scenes account of the breakup of British rule in India." - NPr'S Fresh Air

Cover Art
Cuba since the Revolution Of 1959 - Samuel Farber
Call Number: F1788 .F326 2011
ISBN: 9781608461394
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
Farber provides a critical analysis of the revolution's impact and legacy on Cuba.

Cover Art
Cuban Revelations - Marc Frank
Call Number: E183.8 .C9 F69 2013
ISBN: 9780813044651
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Part I. Revolution on the ropes (1994-2008) -- Trauma -- Castro falters -- The big bang -- Raúl pinch-hits -- Fidel steps down -- From Clinton to Bush -- Part II. Raúl Castro in power (2008-2009) -- Conservative reformers -- Computers, cell phones, hotels, and more -- Disaster, man-made and natural -- Obamamania -- Old foes get reacquainted -- Shock and awe, Raúl style -- Part III. The road to reform (2009-2010) -- Blueprint for survival -- Stealth reform -- Obama versus Raúl -- Wired -- Castro, the cardinal, and the damas -- Fidel, born again -- Part IV. Brave new world (2010-2013) -- Pink slips and permits -- Requiem for the command economy -- On the road again -- Forward march --

Cover Art
Design Revolution - Emily Pilloton
Call Number: TS171.4 .P55 2009
ISBN: 9781933045955
Publication Date: 2009-10-31
Makes the case for design as a tool to solve some of the world's biggest social problems. The book features more than 100 innovative, sustainable, need-based product designs that empower individuals, communities, and economies.

Cover Art
Edge of Eternity - Ken Follett
Call Number: PR6056 .O45 E46 2014
ISBN: 9780525953098
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Those eagerly awaiting volume three of Follett’s ambitious Century Trilogy will not be disappointed. Despite the long wait—Winter of the World was published in 2012—both the history propelling the multiple plots and the third generation of the interrelated cast of characters are so familiar, readers should have no trouble picking up the threads of the story line left dangling at the end of the previous installment. Spanning the globe and the latter third of twentieth century, this saga continues to follow the lives and loves of the members of five global families, as they struggle against a backdrop of tumultuous international events. As the years roll by, the Cold War, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Berlin Wall, the assassination of JFK, the civil rights movement, the Vietnam War, and the crumbling of communism are intimately viewed through the eyes and emotions of a representative array of witnesses to history.

Cover Art
El Otoño del Patriarca - Gabriel García Márquez
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A7308 2010
ISBN: 9780307475763
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
SPANISH: The discovery of a South American dictator's rotting corpse in his deserted palace prompts a search into his progression from a popular, beloved ruler to a isolated, frightened despot.

Cover Art
Finding Mañana - Mirta Ojito
Call Number: E184.C97 O45 2005
ISBN: 1594200416
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Mirta Ojito chronicles her family's immigration from Castro's Cuba to the United States, describing how the journey impacted her own life and her impressions of the United States.

Cover Art
Hitler - Ian Kershaw
Call Number: DD247 .H5K47
ISBN: 9780393067576
Publication Date: 2008-11-17
Biography of Adolf Hitler, examining the mechanics and nature of his power and how he used it.

Cover Art
Hitler : A study in tyranny - Alan Bullock
Call Number: DD247.H5 B86 1991
ISBN: 9780060920203
Publication Date: 1991-06-05
The classic biography of Hitler that remains, years after its publication, one of the most authoritative and readable accounts of his life. Here in an abridged edition.

Cover Art
Ike's Gamble - Michael Doran
Call Number: E836 .D67 2016
ISBN: 9781451697759
Publication Date: 2016-10-11
America's rise to dominance in the Middle East.

Cover Art
Los Pasos Perdidos - Alejo Carpentier; Alejo Carpentier
Call Number: PQ7389 .C263P3 1991
ISBN: 9780140261936
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
The adventures of a New York City composer who flees the city with his mistress to the jungle of South America where he begins a search for primitive musical instruments and personal fulfillment.

Cover Art
Music in Cuba - Alejo Carpentier; Timothy Brennan (Editor, Introduction by); Alan West-Duraan (Translator)
Call Number: ML207.C8C313 2001
ISBN: 9780816632299
Publication Date: 2001-03-05
Originally published in 1946 and never before available in English, Music in Cuba is not only the best and most extensive study of Cuban musical history, it is a work of literature. Drawing on such primary documents as church circulars and musical scores, Carpentier encompasses European-style elite Cuban music as well as the popular rural Spanish folk and urban Afro-Cuban music.

Cover Art
Presidential Decision Making Adrift - David W. Engstrom
Call Number: F1788 .F326 2011
ISBN: 9780847684144
Publication Date: 1997-02-20
Analyzes the response of the Carter Administration to the Mariel boatlift from Cuba in 1980 within the context of political relations between the United States and Cuba since 1959, arguing that ignorance with regard to historic immigration dynamics as well as faulty decision making led to a mishandling of the crisis.

Cover Art
Reasons of State - Alejo Carpentier; Frances Partridge (Translator); Stanley Crouch (Introduction by)
Call Number: PQ7389.C263 R3813 2013
ISBN: 9781612192796
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
"Tells the tale of the dictator of an unnamed Latin American country who has been living the life of luxury in high-society Paris. When news reaches him of a coup at home, he rushes back and crushes it with brutal military force. But returning to Paris he is given a chilly welcome, and learns that photographs of the atrocities have been circulating among his well-to-do friends. Meanwhile World War One has broken out, and another rebellion forces the dictator back across the ocean"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Still Life with Bread Crumbs - Anna Quindlen
Call Number: PS3567 .U336 S75 2014
ISBN: 9781400065752
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Moving to a small country cabin, a once world-famous photographer bonds with a local man and begins to see the world around her in new, deeper dimensions while evaluating second chances at love, career, and self-understanding.

Cover Art
The Autumn of the Patriarch - Gabriel García Márquez
Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 0813 2006
ISBN: 9780060882860
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
A profile of a Latin American tyrant and the corruption of power.

Cover Art
The Empathy Exams - Leslie Jamison
Call Number: PS3610.A485E47 2014
ISBN: 9781555976712
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
"It has some great essays (others are okay- about 70/30)! All focus on the idea of self and others - very current." Lyana Azan, English Teacher and Coordinator

Cover Art
The Family - David Laskin
ISBN: 9780143125891
Publication Date: 2014-09-02

Cover Art
The Kingdom of This World - Alejo Carpentier; Edwidge Danticat (Introduction by); Harriet De Onis (Translator)
Call Number: PQ7389.C263 R413 2006
ISBN: 9780374530112
Publication Date: 2006-05-16
Years after Haiti's liberation from French colonial rule, while King Henri Christophe reigns with brutality, and Ti Noël, an elderly slave, practices animal magic with his fellow slave, Macandal.

Cover Art
The Man Who Recorded the World - John Szwed
Call Number: ML423 .L6347 S98 2011
ISBN: 9780143120735
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
"An informative, compelling, and magnificent biography." - San Francisco Chronicle

Cover Art
The Underground Railroad - Colson Whitehead
Call Number: PS3573.H4768 U53 2016
ISBN: 9780385542364
Publication Date: 2016-08-02
"Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape. Though they manage to find a station and head north, they are being hunted. Their first stop is South Carolina, in a city that initially seems like a haven. But the city's placid surface masks an insidious scheme designed for its black denizens. And even worse: Ridgeway, the relentless slave catcher, is close on their heels."--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Why So Slow? - Virginia Valian
Call Number: HQ1237 .V35 1999
ISBN: 9780262720311
Publication Date: 1999-01-07
Discusses why women are still seen as the inferior sex, and studies the factors that hold them back in school, work, and society.

 

New Books

All the Light we Cannot See

From Booklist:  *Starred Review* A novel to live in, learn from, and feel bereft over when the last page is turned, Doerr’s magnificently drawn story seems at once spacious and tightly composed. It rests, historically, during the occupation of France during WWII, but brief chapters told in alternating voices give the overall—and long—­narrative a swift movement through time and events. We have two main characters, each one on opposite sides in the conflagration that is destroying Europe. Marie-Louise is a sightless girl who lived with her father in Paris before the occupation; he was a master locksmith for the Museum of Natural History. When German forces necessitate abandonment of the city, Marie-Louise’s father, taking with him the museum’s greatest treasure, removes himself and his daughter and eventually arrives at his uncle’s house in the coastal city of Saint-Malo. Young German soldier Werner is sent to Saint-Malo to track Resistance activity there, and eventually, and inevitably, Marie-Louise’s and Werner’s paths cross. It is through their individual and intertwined tales that Doerr masterfully and knowledgeably re-creates the deprived civilian conditions of war-torn France and the strictly controlled lives of the military occupiers.High-Demand Backstory: A multipronged marketing campaign will make the author’s many fans aware of his newest book, and extensive review coverage is bound to enlist many new fans. --Brad Hooper

Euphoria

 

 

More NEW BOOKS...

Cover Art
The Innovators - Walter Isaacson
Call Number: QA76.2 .A2 I87 2014
ISBN: 9781476708690
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
“Walter Isaacson has written an inspiring book about genius, this time explaining how creativity and success come from collaboration. The Innovators is a fascinating history of the digital revolution, including the critical but often forgotten role women played from the beginning. It offers truly valuable lessons in how to work together to achieve great results.” (Sheryl

Cover Art
The Second Shift - Arlie Russell Hochschild; Anne Machung
Call Number: HQ536 .H63 2002
ISBN: 9780142002926
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
The best discussion I have read on what must be the quintessential domestic bind of our time. -- The New York Times Book Review - Helps couples through the practical and ideological difficulties of raising children and maintaining a household while both parents work.

Cover Art
Unbroken - Laura Hillenbrand
Call Number: D805. J3 Z364 2010
ISBN: 9781400064168
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
The inspiring true story of a man who lived through a series of catastrophes almost too incredible to be believed. In evocative, immediate descriptions, Hillenbrand unfurls the story of Louie Zamperini--a juvenile delinquent-turned-Olympic runner-turned-Army hero. During a routine search mission over the Pacific, Louie’s plane crashed into the ocean, and what happened to him over the next three years of his life is a story that will keep you glued to the pages, eagerly awaiting the next turn in the story and fearing it at the same time. You’ll cheer for the man who somehow maintained his selfhood and humanity despite the monumental degradations he suffered, and you’ll want to share this book with everyone you know. --Juliet Disparte

Cover Art
Why We Get Sick - Randolph M. Nesse; George C. Williams
Call Number: R723 .N387 1995
ISBN: 9780679746744
Publication Date: 1996-01-30
Nesse and Williams have written a lively discourse on the application of the principles of evolutionary biology to the dilemmas of modern medicine. Nesse, a physician and an associate professor of psychiatry, and Williams, a professor of ecology and evolution, provide a primer on Darwin's theory of natural selection. They explain that the functional design of organisms-e.g., our bodies-may suggest new ways of addressing illness. The book begins with a look at the causes of disease and their evolutionary influences. But the book mainly assesses the concept of adaptation by natural selection, and illustrates the ways Darwinian thinking can be applied to medical problems. As one example, the authors examine the use of penicillin over the past 60 years against bacterial infections. The book's quirky information may speak to a broad audience: researchers, for instance, have found that relatives of schizophrenics have an unusually high frequency of inclusion in Who's Who-which may counterbalance drawbacks of the disorder in evolutionary terms. The tendency toward child abuse, too, may be influenced, the authors say, by evolution and the passing on of genes. And there may well be an evolutionary reason to welcome morning sickness, they argue: nausea and food aversions during pregnancy apparently evolved to impose dietary restrictions on the mother so as to correspond with fetal vulnerability and, thereby, minimize fetal exposure to food toxins. Publisher's Weekly

ABOUT: Laura Hilldebrand

  • Laura Hilldebrand
    An Author Escapes From Chronic Fatigue Syndrome
    Laura Hillenbrand, the best-selling author of “Seabiscuit: An American Legend,” is known for her exuberant storytelling and dynamic characters ...
    February 4, 2011 - By Tara Parker-Pope - Health - Print Headline: "An Author Escapes From Chronic Fatigue

eBooks

  • eBooks :FREE to Carrollton : OverDrive - Digital Library
    Overdrive access IS available, NOW!

    With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or IPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices! -- You need only your Carrollton email id and password! ONLY!
  • Project Gutenberg
    Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks".[2] It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.[3] Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 47,000 items in its collection.
  • Questia
    Questia is a library containing books an djornal articles on subjects such as history, philosophy, economics, political science, and includes magazine and newspaper articles. over 70,000 online full-text books. For an account, please contact Ms. Rand, http://rrand@carrollton.org
  • Google Books - Advanced Book Search
    For Full Text: Check: Full view only
 

EBooks and Audio Books

Alexander Hamilton - Ron Chernow
Call Number: Overdrive
Alexander Hamilton (1755–1804) created public finance in the United States. In fact, it's arguable that without Hamilton's political and financial strategic brilliance, the United States might not have survived beyond its early years.

Search the Online Catalog

  • ONLINE CATALOG
    The online library catalog helps you find all library materials on the shelves in the library.
 

MORE BOOKS...

Product Details

The Sacred History of Wonder Woman - Jill Lepore
Call Number: PN6728 .W6148 2014
ISBN: 9780385385354042
Publication Date: 2014
Chronicles the history of the Wonder Women character and comic books and its creator psychologist William Moulton Marston, discussing how she was originally created as a platform for women's rights.

Cover Art
Someone - Alice McDermott
Call Number: PS3563 .C355 S66 2013
ISBN: 9780374281090
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
"This was a beautifully written novel about family and love and compassion. Some difficult passages - but overall, lovely." Lyana Azan

Cover Art
The Rithmatist - Brandon Sanderson
Call Number: PZ7 .S19797 Ri 2014
ISBN: 9780765338440
Publication Date: 2014
As Wild Chalklings threaten the American Isles and Rithmatists are humanity's only defense, Joel can only watch as Rithmatist students learn the magical art that he would do anything to practice.

 

MORE BOOKS...

Cover Art
The Devil in the White City - Erik Larson
Call Number: HV6248 .M8L37 2004
ISBN: 9780375725609
Publication Date: 2004-02-10
Tells the parallel stories of Daniel Burnham, the main architect of the 1893 Chicago World's Fair, and serial killer Henry H. Holmes, discussing the challenges Burnham faced in creating the hugely successful White City, and looking at how Holmes used the opportunities afforded by the fair to lure victims to their deaths.

Cover Art
The Open Society and Its Enemies - Karl Popper; E. H. Gombrich (Contribution by); Alan Ryan (Introduction by)
Call Number: B63 .P6 2013
ISBN: 9780691158136
Publication Date: 2013-04-21
One of the most important books of the twentieth century, Karl Popper is an uncompromising defender of liberal democracy and a powerful attacker of the intellectual origins of totalitarianism.

Collections

Image result for IMAGE EDGAR ALLEN POE

  • Egar Allan Poe Digital Collection
    University of Texas - at Austin: This digital collection was launched to accompany the 2009 Poe Bicentennial exhibition, From Out That Shadow: The Life and Legacy of Edgar Allan Poe. It incorporates images of all of Poe's manuscripts and letters at the Ransom Center (linked to transcriptions by the Poe Society of Baltimore) with a selection of related archival materials, two books by Poe annotated by the author, sheet music based on his poems, and portraits from the Ransom Center collections.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip