This is the "DEBATE" page of the "DEBATE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DEBATE  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2016 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=656746 Print Guide RSS Updates
DEBATE Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Resouces

CIAO 

Columbia International Affairs Online is a source for theory and research in international affairs.
CQ Congress Collection 
The CQ Press Congress Collection, an award-winning reference collection in the CQ Press Library. This collection is a powerful research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress.
EBSCO 
EBSCOhost is a database and ebook provider that contains full-text and secondary research databases.
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
Flipster is a digital magazine service provided courtesy of your library. The Flipster app manages your magazines downloaded from the Flipster website for anytime v or iPad mini. Scroll down to the bottom of the EBSCO page for access to this service. See the Journals/Magazine tab for a list of titles available througiewing on your iPad
Fuente Academica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. It offers full text of 500 publications from 18 countries.
Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
Google Scholar 
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
JSTOR  is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities and many peer-reviewed publication
Lexis-Nexis  Lexis-Nexis provides computer-assisted legal research legal research as well as business and risk solution services.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

 

  

                                                                               

Online Databases that are very useful!

 

Social Sciences Research Network            http://www.ssrn.com/en/

Defense Technical Information Center   http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/

 

 

 

 

                               

 

POLICY DEBATE Questions - By Year

 2016-2017 Topic

Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially increase its economic and/or diplomatic engagement with the People’s Republic of China.

Among the possible areas could be: Reforming segments of U.S./China trade; working with China to increase respect for human rights; working with China to better understand and manage its territorial ambitions in the South China Sea and other parts of Asia; how to work with China to best mitigate ongoing concerns over Taiwan; how to work with China to ensure sustainable energy and resource policies; how best to protect indigenous groups within China; how best to handle ongoing concerns over Tibet; how best to work together on the threat posed by world terrorism and many others. Given the amount of literature on the topic, and the number of policy experts opining about China – teams can be assured of finding case ideas in a wide range of areas, with novel and unique Affirmatives being proposed by policy experts almost monthly. The topic’s literature base ensures a dynamic range of case options. Negatives will have ample ground to explore the solvency of diplomatic or economic engagement; the effects of changes in China policy on surrounding Asian nations; the implications for U.S. allies in the region should any change to U.S. policy toward China occur and the effect of change on the U.S. in light of its other national interests and obligations. Case specific disadvantages, again, given the literature base, will move beyond the generic, allowing for case advantages to be weighed by countervailing arguments – including arguments pertaining to the crack-down on rights within China; land use arguments, and specific species protection disadvantages; implications for China/Taiwan relations; labor specific disadvantages; and disadvantages dealing with economic issues specific to plan action (inflation, currency collapse, etc., all directly related to case specific action in China. Counterplan and Kritik ground will be fertile with both case specific and generic arguments in play. There will be plenty of case specific debate, given the literature base on the topic and the number of international experts that write on China there will be no shortage of clashing ideas on how best to engage China, giving teams many possibilities to find proposals for action directly counter to the Affirmative’s. These clashing ideas would affect debate over specific solvency options and case specific advantages. With China rising in stature on the national stage, the resolution is education, timely, and necessary to debate.

University Interscholastic League
Nonprofit organization

 

2015-2016 Topic
Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially curtail its domestic surveillance.

2014-2015 Topic
Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially increase its non-military exploration and/or development of the Earth's oceans.


 

      
     

    Carrollton Debaters

    Other Resources

     

    That's debatable...

    Image result for debater cartoon image

    Adapted, with apologies, from a cartoon by Bill Watterson

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip