This is the "Oratory" page of the "RENAISSANCE ORATORY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2017 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=660065 Print Guide RSS Updates

Oratory Print Page
  Search: 
 

IS MY PIECE EFFECTIVE?

  • Is your speech effective?: Does the speech have any inspiration or purpose to make the audience react?
  • What gestures do you plan to use as you perform to help the audience better visualize what you're saying?
  • Remember to speak up so everyone can hear what you say.

During Practice

Students should research the topic they would like to make a speech about. They should work on the introduction, body, and conclusion of their speech. Then they should memorize it.

Is your speech humorous? or serious?

Practice different character voices and stances and memorize lines.

      

    WHERE CAN I FIND MY SPEECH?

     

    • BrainPop  
        
      Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators.

    • Overdrive -- ebooks
    • EBSCO Research Databases
      Kids Search - Primary and Intermediate Schools
    • Gale Research Virtual Library
      Middle School Collection
    • Goodreads
      Renaissance Quotes
    • Online Catalog
      Books on the shelves at Carrollton
    • The Renaissance : An Overview
      Between 1300 and 1600 the Western world was transformed.
      An extraordinary wave of artistic and cultural innovation shattered medieval society and brought European culture reluctantly into the modern era.

    • Rome Reborn :The Vatican Library & Renaissance Culture
      This exhibition at the Library of Congress was intended on the part of the Vatican Library, at a distance of over sixty years, to express its gratitude to all those from North America who contributed so forcefully to "the common convenience of the learned" which is at the heart of the Vatican Library--to the Carnegie Endowment and Nicholas Murray Butler, to the University of Michigan Library School at Ann Arbor and William Warner Bishop, and above all, given the location of the exhibition, to the Library of Congress and Hserbert Putnam and Charles Martel

    ARTstor

    ARTstor is a web-based tool which allows one to search for, view, and present high quality images of art, architecture and design and many other disciplines in the humanities. 

     

    • ArtStor
      The Artstor Digital Library is a resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

    RENAISSANCE MUSIC

    Image result for RENAISSANCE MUSIC

    • A Short Introduction to Renaissance
      The word “renaissance” means “rebirth” and refers to the interest in reviving ancient Greek and Roman classicism in literature and the visual arts that characterized the 15th and 16th centuries. During this period, the musical “renaissance” took shape largely in the development of vocal polyphony
    • Music in the Renaissance
      Metropolitan Museum of Art
    • Songs and Dances from the Flemish Renaissance - YouTube
      "How sublime. Many people don't realize how central to music history the low countries, along with France, were during the 15th & 16th centuries. Flanders "exported" composers to all parts of Europe, including Italy, which had not yet become the international capital of music it was to become later (17th & 18th centuries)."
    • The Lute in the Renaissance - YouTube

    Timeline of Events

    1418 The Council of Constance ends the Great Schism.
    1420 Florentine artist Massaccio is the first to use linear perspective in painting.
    1420 Filippo Brunelleschi begins work on the dome of the Florence Cathedral.
    1421 Sultan Mehmed II restores the Ottoman Empire.
    1423 Italian educator Vittorino da Feltre establishes a humanist school.
    1440 Italian scholar Lorenzo Valla questions the legitimacy of the pope.
    1450 Francesco I Sforza starts an eighty-year dynasty in Milan.
    1451 Italian scholar Isotta Nogarola writes "On the Equal and Unequal Sin of Eve and Adam," which is considered the first piece of feminist writing.
    1453 Constantinople falls to the Ottoman Turks.
    1454 German printer Johannes Gutenberg perfects movable type.
    1455 The houses of York and Lancaster begin the War of the Roses in England.
    1458 Margaret of Navarre's Heptaméron is published and becomes an important work of the Renaissance period.
    1461 Wanting to be separate from the continents of Asia and Africa, and thus the Muslims, Pope Pius II introduces the idea of Europe as separate continent.


    Timeline of Events

     


    Timeline of Events

     
    1469 Italian merchant Lorenzo de' Medici takes control of Florence and becomes famous for his contributions to countless artists.
    1474 Catholic monarchs Ferdinand II and Isabella I begin the Spanish Inquisition to enforce Christianity as the sole religion of Spain.
    1485 The War of Roses ends and the Tudor dynasty begins in England
    1490s German artist Albrecht Dürer raises woodcut to the level of high art.
    1492 Ferdinand II and Isabella I issue the Edict of Expulsion, ordering all Jews to leave Spain.
    1492 Italian navigator Christopher Columbus makes his first voyage to the New World.
    1494 Pope Alexander VI issues the Treaty of Tordesillas that gives Portugal authority over Brazil.
    1494 Italian preacher Girolamo Savonarola influences a new pro-French government in Florence.
    1494 King Charles VIII of France invades Italy, initiating the Italian Wars with Spain.
    1495 Italian painter Leonardo da Vinci begins The Last Supper, in which he experimented with oil-based paint, which is more easily blended.
    1495 Alexander VI organizes the Holy League, an alliance between the Papal States, the Holy Roman Empire, Spain, Venice, and Milan against France.
    1497 Italian navigator John Cabot begins his search for the Northwest Passage, a water route to the Indies.


    Timeline of Events

     


    Timeline of Events

    1498 Girolamo Savonarola is executed for heresy, or the violation of church laws.
    1498 Italian sculptor Michelangelo starts the Pietà, his first important commission.
    1498 Albrecht Dürer introduces humanism, a human-centered intellectual movement based on the revival of classical culture, into northern European art.
    c. 1500 The Querelle des femmes movement begins. It refers to the literary debate over the nature and status of women.
    c. 1500 Germany replaces Italy as the center of European banking.
    1503 Leonardo begins work on the Mona Lisa, one of the most famous portraits in the Western world.
    1511 Italian artist Raphael paints School of Athens, considered to be one of his greatest achievements.
    1512 Michelangelo completes the decoration of the Sistine Chapel ceiling at the Vatican in Rome.
    1513 Italian diplomat Niccolò Machiavelli writes The Prince, in which he proclaimed his controversial political philosophy.
    1516 Dutch humanist Desiderius Erasmus publishes Praise of Folly, a satire of the Roman Catholic Church and its clergy. That same year Erasmus published his translation of the New Testament of the Bible, the first published Greek text.
    1516 English humanist Thomas More publishes his greatest work Utopia. Modeled on Plato's Republic, Utopia describes an imaginary land that is free of grand displays of wealth, greed, and violence.


    Timeline of Events

     


        

      ORATORY COMPETITION

                    Image result for image renaissance        

          

        MAP OF THE RENAISSANCE c 1494

        The States of Italy during the Renaissance, c.1494

        M

        3-BIG STEPS TO ORATORY

        Image result for giving a speech imageImage result for GIRL ANIMATED GIVING SPEECH   Product Details

        Oratory Competition

        As a student in the Sixth Grade, you will participate in the oratory program as a component of your Renaissance project. This portion of the project provides opportunities to widen your reading base, to explore good literature from this time period in depth, to broaden your perspective on literary works, and to choose and share a piece of literature that you enjoy. You will present a memorized work to your class, and bring this work alive for your classmates and yourself.

        The following guidelines will help you to choose your piece.

         ·         Selections should be around 1-2 minutes in length.

        ·         All pieces MUST be approved by your teacher (Mrs. Aguiar and Mrs. Jones)

        ·         Selections must be memorized.

        ·         You need to have an introduction which includes the title and author of the piece, and enough background/explanation so that the audience will understand your selection. You may also want to explain why you chose your piece.

        ·         Pieces must be appropriate to your age level; they must be advanced enough to be a challenge.

        ·         Literary merit is a criterion for scoring. Nevertheless, it is important to find something that resonates with you, that you enjoy, that you will bring to life. Your teacher can provide guidance on how to balance these concerns.

        You need to make a copy of your piece for your teacher to read and approve, and to keep on file.

        ·You will present your piece without the use of costumes, props, or makeup. Thank youImage result for renaissance apple image, Mrs. Jones

         

        Remember:  THE BEST WAY

        1. Introduction: The best way to deliver an oratory is to grab the audience's attention and make them want to listen to your message.  Use startling facts, questions, jokes.

        2. Body of the Oration:  Award-winning oration often includes both facts and humor.

        3. Conclusion: Go over the main points of the speech and make it memorable for the audience. Speak slowly, clearly, and loud enough so your audience can hear you all the way in the last row.

            

          What is? GILDED GESSO

          Related image

          Look at the gilded gesso on early renaissance devotional pictures, like this saint from the predella of a 1450’s altarpiece in Perugia, the name and halo punched in. 

          Gesso, ( Italian: “gypsum” or “chalk”) fluid white coating, composed of plaster of paris, chalkgypsum, or other whiting mixed with glue, applied to smooth surfaces such as wood panels, plaster, stone, or canvas to provide the ground for tempera and oil painting or for gilding and painting carved furniture and picture frames. In medieval and Renaissance tempera painting, the surface was covered first with a layer of gesso grosso (rough gesso) made with coarse unslaked plaster, then with a series of layers of gesso sottile (finishing gesso) made with fine plaster slaked in water, which produced an opaque, white, reflective surface.

          In the 14th century, Giotto, the notable Italian painter, used a finishing gesso of parchment glue and slaked plaster of paris. In medieval tempera painting, background areas intended for gilding were built up into low relief with gesso duro (hard gesso), a less absorbent composition also used for frame moldings, with patterns often pressed into the gesso with small carved woodblocks. Modern gesso is made of chalk mixed with glue obtained from the skins of rabbits or calves.

           

              
             

            ORATORY BOOKS AS REFERENCE -Search the Online Catalog

            Cover Art
            The Eloquent President - Ronald C. White
            Call Number: E457.2.W6155 2005
            ISBN: 1400061199
            Publication Date: 2005-01-11
            Presents a collection of speeches, addresses, and letters written by Abraham Lincoln including his message to a special session of Congress in July 1861, his First Inaugural Address in 1862, the Gettysburg Address, and blends history and biography of the sixteenth president.

            101 Games That Teach Storytelling Skills - Anthony and Mike Burcher
            Call Number: LB1042 .B64 2013
            ISBN: 1606792318
            Publication Date: 2013
            "This book is full of activities that brings a group together and enables people to really know each other - it's an educator's dream!...."

            https://www.amazon.com/Games-That-Teach-Storytelling-Skills/dp/1606792318

            The Little Oratory - David Clayton; Leila M. Lawler
            ISBN: 9781622821761
            Publication Date: 2014-02-01
            Ask the Librarian - rrand@carrollton.org

            GUTENBERG BIBLE

            Mainz, from The Nuremberg Chronicle Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, 12 July 1493

            • TREASURES IN FULL: GUTENBERG BIBLE
              On this site you will find the British Library’s two copies of Johann Gutenberg’s Bible, the first real book to be printed using the technique of printing which Gutenberg invented in the 1450s.

            RENAISSANCE SCIENTISTS

            Renaissance Scientists

            martin-lutherNicholas Copernicus (1473- 1543) A renaissance mathematician and astronomer who formulated a heliocentric view of the universe. His teaching that the earth revolved around the sun placed him in opposition to the established teachings of the church. He was also an astronomer, physician, economist, diplomat, classics scholar and jurist.

            Galileo (1564 – 1642) Creating one of the first modern telescopes, Galileo revolutionised our understanding of the world supporting the work of Copernicus. His work Two New Sciences laid ground work for the science of Kinetics and strength of materials.

            martin-lutherJohannes Kepler (1571-1630) German scientist who played a key role in the 17th Century scientific revolution. He created the laws of planetary motion, which influenced Sir Isaac Newton’s theory of gravitation.

                

              POLITICAL THINKERS OF THE RENAISSANCE

              martin-lutherNiccolo Machiavelli (1469-1527) Machiavelli was an Italian writer, historian, diplomat and humanist. Moving in political circles, he created a new branch of political science based on humanist principles. His greatest work, The Prince is an expose of political machinations.

              martin-lutherThomas More (1478-1535) More was an English statesman who wrote an ideal political system, Utopia. He was considered a social philosopher and Renaissance humanist. He was executed for refusing to accept Henry VII as head of the Church of England.

                  

                GREAT THINKERS OF THE RENAISSANCE

                Theology and Philosophy

                martin-lutherMartin Luther (1483-1546) Leader of the Protestant reformation. Martin Luther wrote 95 thesis attacking the church, such as criticising the belief sin could be mitigated by paying money to the church. Martin Luther was ex-communicated from the Catholic church and was a key figure in the new Protestant religion.

                martin-lutherErasmus (1466-1536) Erasmus was a Catholic theologian who has also been called the ‘Prince of the humanists’. He was willing to raise questions about the teachings of the church and not relying on blind dogma. He was critical of the abuses of the church and advocated reform from within the church. He was an early advocate of religious tolerance and advocated a middle path between the Catholic and Protestant movements.

                    
                  Description

                  Loading  Loading...

                  Tip