This is the "ENGINEERING" page of the "ENGINEERING" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2017 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=662716 Print Guide RSS Updates
ENGINEERING Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources

  • Make - Magazine
  • US Patent and Trademark Office
  • Famous Women Inventors
    Throughout history, and now into the 21st century, famous women inventors have played a vital role in the world of innovation. In fact, women have become increasingly prevalent in the field and are responsible for such momentous advances as windshield wipers, disposable diapers, the first computer language and the Mars Rover.
 

Books from Founders Library - and more...

Cover Art
Rise of the Robots - Martin Ford
Call Number: HD6331 .F58 2015
ISBN: 9780465059997
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
What are the jobs of the future? How many will there be? And who will have them? As technology continues to accelerate and machines begin taking care of themselves, fewer people will be necessary. Artificial intelligence is already well on its way to making “good jobs” obsolete: many paralegals, journalists, office workers, and even computer programmers are poised to be replaced by robots and smart software. As progress continues, blue and white collar jobs alike will evaporate, squeezing working- and middle-class families ever further. At the same time, households are under assault from exploding costs, especially from the two major industries—education and health care—that, so far, have not been transformed by information technology. The result could well be massive unemployment and inequality as well as the implosion of the consumer economy itself. The past solutions to technological disruption, especially more training and education, aren’t going to work. We must decide, now, whether the future will see broad-based prosperity or catastrophic levels of inequality and economic insecurity. Rise of the Robots is essential reading to understand what accelerating technology means for our economic prospects—not to mention those of our children—as well as for society as a whole.

Cover Art
Design Revolution - Emily Pilloton
Call Number: TS171.4 .P55 2009
ISBN: 9781933045955
Publication Date: 2009-10-31
Emily Pilloton is the founder and Executive Director of Project H Design, a global industrial design nonprofit with eight chapters around the world. Trained in architecture at the University of California, Berkeley, and product design at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Pilloton started Project H in 2008 to provide a conduit and catalyst for need-based product design that empowers individuals, communities and economies. Current Project H initiatives include water transport and filtration systems in South Africa and India; an educational math playground built for elementary schools in Uganda and North Carolina; a homeless-run design coop in Los Angeles; and design concepts for foster care education and therapy in Austin, Texas.

Cover Art
Googled - Ken Auletta
ISBN: 9781594202353
Publication Date: 2009-11-03
Just eleven years old, Google has profoundly transformed the way we live and work-we've all been Googled. Esteemed media writer Ken Auletta uses the story of Google's rise to explore the future of media at large. This book is based on the most extensive cooperation ever granted a journalist, including access to closed-door meetings and interviews with industry legends, including Google founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin, Marc Andreessen, and media guru "Coach" Bill Campbell. Auletta's unmatched analysis, vivid details, and rich anecdotes illuminate how the Google wave grew, how it threatens to drown media institutions, and where it's taking us next.

 

Seeds :Time capsules of life

Seeds

Cover Art
Seeds :Time capsules of life - Rob Kesseler; Peter Crane (Foreword by); Wolfgang Stuppy; Alexandra Papadakis (Editor); HRH the Prince of Wales Staff (Preface by)
Call Number: SB117 .K47 2006
ISBN: 9781554072217
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Examines the internal and external structure of seeds and their development from pollination to germination, and features photos and electron microscopic images of seeds and their parent plants.

Women and Astrophysics - Science Magazine - Archive

 
THE CONTRIBUTION OF WOMEN TO ASTROPHYSICS
 
The less serious side of space scientist Carolyn Porco and a familiar Hollywood character.
 
Stories in the news these days tell us about about the awful treatment of women in the entertainment business. The astronomical sciences have not been immune from similar problems, and yet women have made a bedrock contribution to the science. Scientific American is proud of all of our authors; this month we look at some of the women astrophysicists who have written articles for us.
  • August, 1878: Maria Mitchell, one of the more noted astronomers of the 19th century, reports on the eclipse of that year.
  • June, 1973: Spectrographic observations and some computer simulations allowed Vera Rubin to describe the motions of the stars in our galaxy, the Milky Way.
  • August, 1995: Carolyn Shoemaker co-authors an article on a comet that very famously and visibly smacked into the planet Jupiter: Comet Shoemaker-Levy 9.
  • December, 2008: Carolyn Porco writes of Enceladus, one of Saturn’s icy moons visited by a satellite she worked on, Voyager.
 
      

    Fairchild Challenge - Petals and Pollinators - 2017-2018

    The Fairchild Challenge is our award-winning, interdisciplinary, environmental science competition designed to engage students of diverse interests, abilities, talents and backgrounds to explore the natural world. The program has been recognized as a benchmark for exceptional STEM education and for empowering PreK – 12th grade students to become the next generation of scientists, researchers, educated voters, policy makers, and environmentally-minded citizens.

     

    • Fairchild Challenge - at Carrollton - 2017-2018
      The following database links will be useful for the Carrollton research project: PETALS AND POLIINATORS / I recommend - for more effective search results to use : KEYWORDS / Bees, Pollen, flowers, birds, honeybees, insect, pollinators, etc.......
    • ARS - USDA Research Service
      ARS Research is organized into National Programs. These programs serve to bring coordination, communication and empowerment to approximately 690 research projects carried out by ARS. The National Programs focus on the relevance, impact, and quality of ARS research.
    • BioOne
      BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene. Established in 1999 by five founding organizations—the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), The University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), and Allen Press, Inc—BioOne serves a community of over 140 society and institutional publishers, 4,000 accessing institutions, and millions of researchers worldwide.
    • BrainPop
      Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators. For password, email librarian: rrand@carrollton.org

    • Discover Engineering
      Do you want to encourage a young person or group of students to consider engineering? This site can help!
    • EBSCO
      Academic Search Premier – a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
      Advanced Placement Source – designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various Advanced Placement (AP) or International Baccalaureate (IB) courses, this database offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence.
      Biography Reference Center – offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies.
      Literary Reference Center Plus – provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
      Primary Search – contains full text for popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
      Ultra Online Package – offers a superior collection of full-text reference resources for secondary schools.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
    • Gale Research
      Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
    • Google Books
      Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
    • Plants: JSTOR
      Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
    • Overdrive
      Popular e-books and audio books - Overdrive access IS available to the Carrollton Community, NOW!
    • SWE Winter Newsletter
      Surprising even the closest observers, research that links deep-learning technology with medical inquiry took off at a rapid pace in 2016. Engineers and scientists worked furiously to apply deep learning’s data-mining and analytic powers to solve wide-ranging medical issues and, at the same time, develop new products and services. The Winter issue covers some of the possibilities that deep learning, an advanced form of artificial intelligence, offers.
    • Science/Scientific American
      Science Classic has citations in PubMed/Medline for every article beginning with Vol. 1. 1880. However, Science Classic articles are only indexed in PubMed/Medline if they fall within the scope of the database and have medical-related subject headings.
    • Very Short Introductions
      NEW How to be a know it all? A new series -- These books are concise introductions to particular subjects, intended for a general audience but written by experts.
     

    ENGINEERING

    Carrollton’s engineering programs offer a variety of engineering discipline projects including NAO Humanoid robotics, 3d printing, coding, electronics, aquatic robotics and computer science.

    Students in the engineering programs (curricular or afterschool) have many opportunities to work independently, creating and refining their designs or to join a team working on projects such as the bi-annual Energy Harnessing project.

    The engineering program is affiliated with local, regional, state and national association groups, offering further academic support. 

    Engineeting - MIT Courseware

    A collection of Engineering courses and resources from across MIT. Some are materials that were used to teach MIT undergraduates, while others were designed specifically for high school students.

     

    Invention Opportunities - July 16, 1895

    PLOTTING AGAINST HORSES; London Engineer Offers Prizes for Best Forms of Horseless Vehicles ONE THOUSAND GUINEAS THE AMOUNT Progress that Has Been Made -- Experiments that Are Being Conducted by Joseph Lippe of This City.

    The London Engineer, one of the foremost technical journals in Great Britain, has announced that it will give 1,000 guineas in prizes for the best forms of horseless vehicles. The award will be made by a committee of experts after a public trial on some road in England.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip