- 23 Maps and Charts on Language
"The limits of my language," the philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein once posited, "mean the limits of my world." Explaining everything within the limits of the world is probably too ambitious a goal for a list like this. But here are 23 maps and charts that can hopefully illuminate small aspects of how we manage to communicate with one another.
- African American History Program/National Academy of Science
African Americans have made significant contributions to science, engineering, and medicine. Many of these researchers, scholars, and practitioners had to overcome tremendous obstacles. New knowledge born from their brilliance and perseverance has benefited humankind
- Avalon Project
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. Recommended by: Mr. Alex Consuegra
Columbia International Affairs Online. A source for theory and research in international affairs.
- The Constitution - Interactive Constitution App
On this site, constitutional experts interact with each other to explore the Constitution’s history and what it means today. For each provision of the Constitution, scholars of different perspectives discuss what they agree upon, and what they disagree about. These experts were selected with the guidance of leaders of two prominent constitutional law organizations—The American Constitution Society and The Federalist Society. This project is sponsored by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation.
- EBSCO Research Databases
Leading research databases & discovery service providing scholarly journals, ...
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
- Gale Virtual Research Library
Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
“History by Era” is the Institute’s gateway to our historical content. Each of the ten Eras is divided into thematic Sub-eras, which all follow the same template so readers can move easily from one to another: and more...
- Global Gateway
World Culture and Resources
A digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - many come from peer-reviewed publications.
- Library of Congress - American History
These pages link to selected collection content available online at the Library of Congress, arranged by broad categories. The Library's online content represents only a small percentage of its physical holdings.
- Library of Congress - Civil War
Examine different points of view from both the Union and the Confederacy through poetry, music, images, letters, maps and other primary documents. Hear former slaves tell their stories, and read first-hand accounts by Civil War women.
- Library of Congress - Slavery
The largest online collection of animated historical maps. Recommended by: Mr. Alex Consuegra
Maps complimenting history, social studies, geography, curriculum materials includes teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, 4000 thematic maps.
- National Security Archive : Cold War Declassified
The National Security Archive is a non-governmental, non-profit organization founded in 1985 by a group of journalists and scholars who sought a centralized home for formerly secret U.S. government documentation obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. The National Security Archive is proud to have had the opportunity to make a substantial contribution to the Cold War series.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks". It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 47,000 items in its collection.
A library containing books and journal articles on subjects such as history, philosophy, economics, political science. Includes magazine and newspaper articles. 70,000 online books. Contact Ms. Rand to set up your account.
- World War II - explained in maps
World War II was a great tragedy, claiming 60 million lives and throwing millions more into turmoil. Yet the war also spurred rapid technological development, hastened the end of colonialism, and laid the foundation for institutions like the United Nations and the European Union. Here are 42 maps that explain the conflict — how it started, why the Allies won, and how it has shaped the modern world.