- ONLINE CATALOG
The online library catalog helps you find all library materials on the shelves in the library.
- Alexander Street : American History in Video
American History in Videos are contemporaneous videos from the 1890's to the 1980's. It includes people who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remembering how they felt at the time.
- Alexander Street : Dance in Video
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. It is an overview of 20th century concert dance, including forerunners of modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation.
- Alexander Street : World History Video
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
- Amazing Animals: Grolier-Scholastic Library
Wild animals and their habitats for elementary school and middle school children.
- Amazon Prime
Amazon Prime including FREE Two-Day Shipping for eligible purchases, unlimited streaming of movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video. Contact the Librarian for the user id and password.
The Artstor Digital Library is a resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- American Women's History Online/Facts-on-File
American Women's History Online covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.
- Books and Books
Community Center, Author Visits and more.. independently-minded - We serve as a community center for writers and readers, hosting 60 author events a month and featuring a carefully curated selection of books, magazines and gift items.
Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators. For password, email librarian: email@example.com
- BrainPop Jr
Brainpop creates animated curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email librarian: firstname.lastname@example.org
- BrainPop (Spanish version)
Brainpop, the Spanish version - creates animated, curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email the librarian: email@example.com
Columbia International Affairs Online is a source for theory and research in international affairs.
EBSCOhost is a database and ebook provider that contains full-text and secondary research databases.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
- Energy and Environmental Database/Facts-on-File
Energy and the Environment Online provides a comprehensive examination of the history, technology, science, environmental, and social implications that are associated with the production of energy. It contains interviews with prominent people in the field.
- Fuente Academica/EBSCO
Fuente Academica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. It offers full text of 500 publications from 18 countries.
- Gale Research Virtual Library
Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
Goodreads is a website that allows individuals to freely search Goodreads' extensive user-populated database of books, annotations, and reviews. Users can sign up and register books to generate library catalogs and reading lists.
- Google Books
Google Book search works just like a web search. If a book is out of copyright or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see the preview of the book and in some cases the entire text of the book.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Granger's World of Poetry
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages.
- Grolier Online
Grolier includes eight encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, The New Book of Popular Science.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. It includes 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc.
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities and many peer-reviewed publications
Lexis-Nexis provides computer-assisted legal research legal research as well as business and risk solution services.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
Maps101 compliments history, social science, geography, curriculum materials includes teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, 4000 thematic maps.
- The Map-as-History
Maps-as-History is the largest online collection of animated historical maps.
- Miami-Dade Public Library
Check for the library nearest your location. You will need a MDPLS library card to access the library - in person, or online
- Newspapers of the World/Grolier Online
"Our World" offers a searchable database of URL addresses for newspapers around the world.
- La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre/Grolier-Scholastic Library
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre is a comprehensive reference resource for Spanish speakers and Spanish language students.
The Purdue University Online Writing Lab serves writers from around the world and the Purdue University Writing Lab helps writers on Purdue's campus.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries
Oxford Language Dictionaries offer essential language resources and is a fully-searchable bilingual dictionaries.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED is the accepted authority of the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together 2 million digitized entries across Ocford's Dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias.
- Physics in Action Online/Fact-on-File
Physics in Action explores the absorbing science of matter and energy from the smallest particles that make up matter to the immense forces that move the continents.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks". It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 47,000 items in its collection.
- Project Muse
Project Muse is a collection of over 400 peer-reviewed humanities and social science journals covering a wide variety of topics. All the articles are full-text.
PUbMed is a database comprising more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Questia is a library containing books an djornal articles on subjects such as history, philosophy, economics, political science, and includes magazine and newspaper articles. over 70,000 online full-text books.
- Scientific American - Print Facsimile
Scientific American Print facsimile is a popular science magazine.
- Teaching Books
Teaching Books is a website of multimedia dimensions. It adds to the reading experience of children's, young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books
- Visual Thesaurus
Visual Thesaurus is a floating constellation of related words.