This is the "Home" page of the "FRESHMAN SUCCESS WEEK LIBRARY ORIENTATION!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FRESHMAN SUCCESS WEEK LIBRARY ORIENTATION!   Tags: "freshman success week", founder's, freshman, welcome  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=680132 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Founder's Library #1

 

Google or Databases?

Library Resources: DATABASES A-Z, & more... #2

  • ONLINE CATALOG
    The online library catalog helps you find all library materials on the shelves in the library.
  • African American Studies Center
    The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
  • Alexander Street : Dance in Video
    Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. It is an overview of 20th century concert dance, including forerunners of modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation.
  • American National Biography
    The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
  • The Art Story
    The Art Story is about ideas for people, not citations for academics. Read more on our approach.
  • ARTstor
    The Artstor Digital Library is a resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

  • ATLA - American Theological Library Association
    ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
  • Berg Fashion Library
    The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
  • BioOne
    BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene. Established in 1999 by five founding organizations—the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), The University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), and Allen Press, Inc—BioOne serves a community of over 140 society and institutional publishers, 4,000 accessing institutions, and millions of researchers worldwide.
  • Books and Books
    BOOKS AND BOOKS serves as a community center for writers and readers, hosting 60 author events a month and featuring a carefully curated selection of books, magazines and gift items.
  • BrainPop
    Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators. For password, email librarian: rrand@carrollton.org

  • BrainPop Jr
    Brainpop creates animated curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email librarian: rrand@carrollton.org
  • BrainPop (Spanish version)
    Brainpop, the Spanish version - creates animated, curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email the librarian: rrand@carrollton.org
  • CIAO
    Columbia International Affairs Online is a source for theory and research in international affairs.
  • CQ Congress Collection
    The CQ Press Congress Collection, an award-winning reference collection in the CQ Press Library. This collection is a powerful research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress.
  • The Constitution / Interactive Constitution App
    On this site, constitutional experts interact with each other to explore the Constitution’s history and what it means today. For each provision of the Constitution, scholars of different perspectives discuss what they agree upon, and what they disagree about. These experts were selected with the guidance of leaders of two prominent constitutional law organizations—The American Constitution Society and The Federalist Society. This project is sponsored by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation.
  • de la Cruz Art Space Contemporary Collection
    Completed in December of 2009, the de la Cruz Collection Contemporary Art Space is privately funded by Carlos and Rosa de la Cruz. This space serves as an extension of their home, where for over 25 years they have shared their collection with the public. The primary purpose of this space is to provide education and awareness in the visual arts. Educational programming includes lectures, artist-led workshops, docent-led tours, scholarship opportunities and student travel initiatives.
  • Discovery Education Streaming
    Access to Discovery Education Streaming, please contact Robbie Rand for register/login information : rrand@carrollton.org
    Science Connection K-8
    Discovery Ed Streaming - K-12
    Discovery Education transforms classrooms and inspires teachers with engaging interactive content and services that measure and improve student ...
  • eBooks : FREE to Carrollton : OverDrive - Digital Library
    Overdrive access IS available, NOW!

    With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or IPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices! -- You need only your Carrollton email id and password! ONLY!
  • EBSCO
    Academic Search Premier – a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
    Advanced Placement Source – designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various Advanced Placement (AP) or International Baccalaureate (IB) courses, this database offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence.
    Biography Reference Center – offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies.
    Literary Reference Center Plus – provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
    Primary Search – contains full text for popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
    Ultra Online Package – offers a superior collection of full-text reference resources for secondary schools.
  • Edutopia
    The George Lucas Educational Foundation, a nonprofit operating foundation, was founded by filmmaker George Lucas in 1991. Growing up, Lucas was curious and creative – but at school, he often felt bored. Years later, after becoming a father, he once again found himself focused on schools’ untapped potential to truly engage students and inspire them to become active, lifelong learners. He decided to invest in making a difference and created the Foundation to identify and spread innovative, replicable and evidence-based approaches to helping K-12 students learn better.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
  • Flipster  
      
    Flipster is a digital magazine service provided courtesy of your library. The Flipster app manages your magazines downloaded from the Flipster website for anytime viewing on your iPad or iPad mini. Scroll down to the bottom of the EBSCO page for access to this service. See the Journals/Magazine tab for a list of titles available through Flipster. Titles included: ART IN AMERICA, THE ATLANTIC, CLOTH PAPER SCISSORS, DISCOVER, FOREIGN POLICY, NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS, NEW YORKER, POPULAR SCIENCE, SOUTHERN LIVING, TIME, VOGUE, WIRED.
  • Gale Research Virtual Library
    Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
  • Goodreads
    Goodreads is a website that allows individuals to freely search Goodreads' extensive user-populated database of books, annotations, and reviews. Users can sign up and register books to generate library catalogs and reading lists.
  • Google Books
    Google Book search works just like a web search. If a book is out of copyright or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see the preview of the book and in some cases the entire text of the book.
  • Google Books - Advanced Book Search
    For Full Text: Check: Full view only
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
  • Google Books - Advanced Book Search
    For Full Text: Check the box: Full view only
  • Granger's World of Poetry
    The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. It includes 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc.
  • HistoryMiami
    HistoryMiami is the premier cultural institution committed to gathering, preserving and celebrating Miami’s history through exhibitions, city tours, education, research, collections and publications.
  • Internet Archive
    Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books (audio and print), movies, software, music, and more.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - and Plant database - and many peer-reviewed publications
  • Plants - JSTOR
    Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
  • Khan Academy
    You can learn anything!
  • Lexis-Nexis
    Please request Userid and Password from Ms.Rand - rrand@carrollton.org; Lexis-Nexis provides computer-assisted legal research legal research as well as business and risk solution services.
  • MLA Formatting and Style Guide
    MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
  • Mansion Maniac
    Built from digitized assets of the New York Public Library's collection of Apartment Houses of the Metropolis, this game/toy lets you explore mansion floor plans from the early 20th century in New York City.
  • Maps101 PLUS Field Trip Library
    Maps101 compliments history, social science, geography, curriculum materials includes teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, 4000 thematic maps.
  • The Map-as-History  
      
    Map-as-History is the largest online collection of animated historical maps.

    Currently, direct access to Map-as-History is only available - at school. For remote access to The Map-as-History - please request the userid and password from Robbie Rand : http://rrand@carrollton.org
  • National Archives
    The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
  • Miami-Dade Public Library
    Check for the Miami-Dade Public Library nearest you. You will need a MDPLS library card to access the library's collection - in person, or online
  • Open Syllabus Project
    The OSP is an effort to make the intellectual judgment embedded in syllabi relevant to broader explorations of teaching, publishing, and intellectual history. The project has collected over 1 million syllabi, has extracted citations and other metadata from them, and is now pleased to make the Syllabus Explorer publicly available as a means of exploring this corpus. Looking ahead, the OSP’s goal is to expand the collection and make it more useful to authors, teachers, administrators, and students.
  • Overdrive
    Popular e-books and audio books - Overdrive access IS available to the Carrollton Community, NOW!

    With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or IPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices! -- You need only your Carrollton email id and password! ONLY!
  • OWL
    The Purdue University Online Writing Lab serves writers from around the world and the Purdue University Writing Lab helps writers on Purdue's campus.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries
    Oxford Language Dictionaries offer essential language resources and is a fully-searchable bilingual dictionaries.

  • Oxford Scholarship Online - Psychology
    Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding research library, and has grown to be one of the leading academic research resources in the world. Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
  • Project Gutenberg
    Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks".[2] It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.[3] Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 47,000 items in its collection.
  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
      
    ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ is a digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the eighteenth century.
  • Public Library of Science
    PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
  • PubMed
    PUbMed is a database comprising more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  • Questia
    Questia is a library containing books an djornal articles on subjects such as history, philosophy, economics, political science, and includes magazine and newspaper articles. over 70,000 online full-text books. For an account, please contact Ms. Rand, http://rrand@carrollton.org
  • Science - AAAS
    Through April 2018 - Science Classic has citations in PubMed/Medline for every article beginning with Vol. 1. 1880. However, Science Classic articles are only indexed in PubMed/Medline if they fall within the scope of the database and have medical-related subject headings.
  • Scientific American - Print Facsimile
    Scientific American Print facsimile is a popular science magazine.
  • Statista.com
    Our team of trained specialists manually analyze, audit and update each of our statistics. Our attention to detail and adherence to academic archetypes not only enables us to guarantee the maintenance of high standards, but also ensures that we are fully equipped to meet the needs and expectations of our users. In conjunction with our reading supports, our easy to understand and accessible formatting techniques assist our users in gaining a solid foothold in even the most complex of areas.
    So, what are you waiting for?
  • Teaching Books  
      
    Teaching Books is a website of multimedia dimensions. It adds to the reading experience of children's, young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books
  • United Nations Digital Library
    NEW Explore documents, voates, speeches, public domain publications and more.
  • Trial - Very Short Introductions!
    NEW How to be a know it all? A new series -- These books are concise introductions to particular subjects, intended for a general audience but written by experts. One benefit to the digital version is for the whole class to have access to any and all parts of the "books" at the same time.
  • Carrollton School Of The Sacred Heart Digital Library
 

Welcome Freshman!

Image result for welcome new students image   

CARROLLTON STUDENTS 

 

Welcome to Founders

WHAT WE WILL DISCUSS TODAY!

1) About Founder's Library!

 http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

  • Navigating the library - at school/at home
  • LC Call Numbers
  • Check out books
  • Print/Scan

2) Content and Resources?

http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

3) How can you apply library resources to your studies?

http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

      

    FAQ'S

    The Libraries at Carrollton – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)

    Students visit the library to read, ask the librarian questions, learn library skills and to do research.  Books can be checked out for two weeks and returned to Founder's on or before the due date.  Books may be renewed online for one additional week.  Students who do not return their books on time may still use the library to browse and enjoy books in the library but not checkout.   Overdue notices are sent to each student once a week via their email account..  

    A book is considered lost if a student or librarian cannot find the book on the shelf.  Replacement notices generally go out before the end of the school year.  Overdue notices are sent weekly with the price on the notice.    A book is considered lost if overdue for longer than one month.  No replacement books are accepted.  The library purchases all books. If the book is found at a later date with no damages, then the cost of the book will be refunded.

    Who may use the library?

    The Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart Library is a private research facility.  Use of resources, services, and collections are reserved primarily for enrolled students, faculty, and staff. 

    Library hours are:

    Founder's Library                   Monday – Friday        7:30 am – 6:00 pm 

    Taylor Hall Library                Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

    El Jardin Library                   Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

    Primary Library                     Monday – Friday        7:45 am – 3:45 pm

     

    Quiet Room, Main Area, and the Reading Room for study?

    Students and Faculty share the Quiet Room.  The Quiet Room is a total-silent-room.  if you want to study together or talk softly it would be preferable to study in the Main Area - at the desk or the round tables.  Always leave your area clean and tidy for the next person..  Sometimes, there will be a meeting in the Reading Room. Most of the time you can study in the surrounding area using soft voices.  If a private meeting is scheulded you will be asked to come back at a later time.  

    May I eat or drink in the library?

    No. The library does not allow food or beverages except water in a covered container.  

    May I use my cell phone in the library?

    No.  The Library is a classroom.  Not using a cell phone in the library, is the same as the classroom.  If you choose, you may bring your phone into the library after school and keep it on vibrate mode only.  All calls must be taken outside the library.

    How may we connect to electronic databases from off-campus?

    Carrollton provides remote access to all electronic databases

    http://www.carrollton.libguides.com  

    What can I borrow and renew?

    Most Library materials circulate and may be renewed in person, or online through the catalog. Some Library materials are designated as non-circulating such as reference, or reserves, or those in Special Collections and the Archives. Loan policies vary by School.

    Checkout Limits

    Checkout limits are unique to each School.  Consult the online catalog system or Librarian.

    Replacement Fees

    Patrons will be charged the original cost of the item found in the overdue notice.

    Suspension of Borrowing Privileges

    Patrons may not check out items if they have overdue books or outstanding replacement book fees.

    Faculty and Staff

    Checkout procedures for faculty and staff are the same as for students. 

    Checkout Procedure

    A self-checkout-tutorial poster is available at the Founder's Library.  At the Taylor Hall Libraries, faculty or a librarian will check out books for the students; at the Oak Room Library at El Jardin and Primary School library, a faculty or librarian will assist the students.  Sometimes policies for loaning, renewal, requests and overdue books are different at each library.  Check with the librarian.

    Students should report any damage to library materials when checking out the item -  to the librarian.  

     Overdue Notices Procedure

    Overdue notices are automatically run once a week.  A notice will go out to the student and faculty (via their email account, weekly).  For the lower grades  notices are distributed via email to the homeroom teacher and parent.

     What technology is available to students who use the library?

    Computers, scanner, photocopier, and wireless access

    What is Plagiarism?

    Plagiarism is the use of other people's work without giving credit through a citation or bibliography reference. It is subject to disciplinary action.

     

     

     

     

     

    SURVEY - PLEASE TAKE!

    Library Orientation Survey

    1. Give the date and period you attended this orientation. 
    2. Is this your first year at CARROLLTON? 
    3. Today's orientation helped me learn how to do better research in the FOUNDERS library. 
    4. How do you feel about the amount of information presented in today's session? 
    5. How likely are you to ask the librarian for assistance in the future? 
    6. What research skills would you like to know more about? * Choose all that apply 
    •  
    7. How could the librarian improve orientations in the future (e.g. speaking louder, offering clearer examples, covering less material, etc.)? 
    8. What was the most important thing you learned today? 
    9. What materials and resources would you like to see added to the library? (e.g. books, periodicals, computers) 
    10. What kinds of books would you like to see in the library? (Check all that apply) 
    •  

    Questions? #1

    Materials located in Founder's Library are arranged by what classification system?     

        
       

      Library Call Numbers & Stack Location

      Library of Congress - Call Number Locations

      A

      Stack 1 - General Works

      B – BD

      Stack 1 - Philosophy

      BF – BQ

      Stack 1 - Psychology; Ethics, Religions

      BR – BX

      Stack 1 - Religion, Christianity

      Goal 1 Sacred Heart Spirituality

      Stack 1 - Religion, Christianity

      CB, DU

      Stack 2 - History of Civilization, World History and History of Europe, History of the Americas

      E, F, G, HN

      Stack 3 - History of the Americas, Geography, Anthropology, Recreation, Social Sciences

      HQ - , J, K, PRO Teacher Education,  M – ML,  N, OVERSIZE BOOKS

      Stack 4 - Economic History and Conditions, The Family, Marriage, Women, Political Science, Law, Professional- Education, Music and  Music Education, OVERSIZE, Fine Art

      NC780 - , OVERSIZE BOOKS

      Stack 5 - Fine Art, OVERSIZE

      P40 - PR6037

      Stack 6 - Philology & Linguistics, Modern Languages, Romance Languages, English Language, English and American Literature

      PR6037 - PT9876

      Stack 7 – Fiction

      PZ1 - PZ7, Q115 - RA 576

      Stack 8 - Fiction, Science, Public Aspects of Medicine

      RA, S, T, Z6207

      Stack 9 - Public Aspects of Medicine, Agriculture, Forestry, Aquacuture, Technology, Information, Languages, Books on Reserve, Florida Collection

      Reference, Atlas, CD & DVD’s, New Books

      Stack 10

      Periodicals

      Back Wall & Flipster

      Current Newspapers

      Back Wall

        Suggestions: Developing a Research Question

         

        From topic to question:

        1. Identify controversies or open-ended questions from your research. This can help guide you to areas you would like to further explore.
        2. Formulate the question. Think in terms of “how” or “why” (to what extent. . .). Remember to keep it focused to 1 question that is open-ended to leave room for exploration.
        3. Try using a 3 part statement: what you are writing about (topic), what you want to know about it (question), why you want to know about it (beginning rationale)
        4. Evaluate your question. Think of the “so what?” factor. Is this a question that will add to other people’s understanding or interest them in your research?

         

        A good research question:

        1. Defines the investigation
        2. Sets boundaries
        3. Provides direction

         

        Research questions must always take into account:

        1. The parameters of the assignment
        2. Your ability to get supervisory support
        3. Research opportunities and availability

         

        Watch your research question grow

        Narrowing, clarifying and even redefining your research question will become necessary as you develop your understanding of your subject. As you read, you will develop new ideas that will then inform the direction you take with your research question. This process takes time! You may have to re-evaluate or even change your question for a variety of reasons, so don’t try to start the night before the essay is due. Think of it as an evolution – your question should develop a narrow, clear focus as your understanding of the subject grows.

         

        Is this question right for me? – Think of your question in terms of the following: can the question hold your interest through 40 hours of work? Can you manage any biases or assumptions you have about the topic? Am you willing and able to put in the necessary work to answer this research question?

         

        Good Question Checklist:

        1.    Is the question in the right field? Does it relate most closely to an IB/AP subject I am studying?

        2.      Is the question well articulated? Are the terms well defined? Are there any unchecked assumptions? Was I focused on the question?  

        3.      Is the question feasible? Do I have access to the resources to answer my question?  Can information be collected in an attempt to answer the question? Do I have the skills and expertise necessary to answer the question? Will I be able to answer the question within the time constraints? Are there any potential financial costs I need to be aware of? Are there any ethical issues involved?

        4.    Does the question get my supervisor’s seal of approval? Does my supervisor think I’m on the right track? Do ‘experts’ in my field consider my question important and feasible?

        Adapted from http://www.sagepub.co.uk/resources/oleary/

            

          SEARCH TECHNIQUES

           

          I DID IT!

          POP QUIZ? (From OSU)


           
          POP QUIZ

          GAME TIME!

           

          See if you can survive in Zombie Cure.

           

          Take the Zombie Cure Quiz to see how well you learned the research strategies in the game.

           

           

              
             

            wise words...

            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip