This is the "RESOURCES" page of the "LIBRARY RESOURCES " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LIBRARY RESOURCES   Tags: high school resources, hs resources, resources  

This guide includes databases, periodicals, and newspapers available to the Carrollton Community.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2017 URL: http://carrollton.libguides.com/libraryresources Print Guide RSS Updates

RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Computer short cuts - cut, paste, copy....

 

St. Jerome - Librarian & Archivist

Here Jerome has no beard, and is wearing his robes, and has a nice office instead of a cave and a rock, but he still has the telltale lion and industrious attitude.

St. Jerome, patron saint of librarians and libraries as well as archivists, translators and encyclopedists

Search Techniques

DATABASES A-Z

  • ONLINE CATALOG
    The online library catalog helps you find all library materials on the shelves in the library.
  • African American Studies Center
    The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
  • Alexander Street : Dance in Video
    Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. It is an overview of 20th century concert dance, including forerunners of modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation.
  • American National Biography
    The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
  • The Art Story
    The Art Story is about ideas for people, not citations for academics. Read more on our approach.
  • ARTstor
    The Artstor Digital Library is a resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

  • ATLA - American Theological Library Association
    ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 620,000 article citations from more than 1,746 journals (575 currently indexed), more than 250,000 essay citations from over 18,000 multi-author works, more than 570,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
  • Berg Fashion Library
    The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
  • BioOne (NEW)
    BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene. Established in 1999 by five founding organizations—the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), The University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), and Allen Press, Inc—BioOne serves a community of over 140 society and institutional publishers, 4,000 accessing institutions, and millions of researchers worldwide.
  • Books and Books
    BOOKS AND BOOKS serves as a community center for writers and readers, hosting 60 author events a month and featuring a carefully curated selection of books, magazines and gift items.
  • BrainPop  
      
    Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators. For password, email librarian: rrand@carrollton.org

  • BrainPop Jr
    Brainpop creates animated curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email librarian: rrand@carrollton.org
  • BrainPop (Spanish version)
    Brainpop, the Spanish version - creates animated, curricular content for students and supports educators. For password, email the librarian: rrand@carrollton.org
  • CIAO
    Columbia International Affairs Online is a source for theory and research in international affairs.
  • CQ Congress Collection
    The CQ Press Congress Collection, an award-winning reference collection in the CQ Press Library. This collection is a powerful research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress.
  • The Constitution / Interactive Constitution App
    On this site, constitutional experts interact with each other to explore the Constitution’s history and what it means today. For each provision of the Constitution, scholars of different perspectives discuss what they agree upon, and what they disagree about. These experts were selected with the guidance of leaders of two prominent constitutional law organizations—The American Constitution Society and The Federalist Society. This project is sponsored by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation.
  • de la Cruz Art Space Contemporary Collection
    Completed in December of 2009, the de la Cruz Collection Contemporary Art Space is privately funded by Carlos and Rosa de la Cruz. This space serves as an extension of their home, where for over 25 years they have shared their collection with the public. The primary purpose of this space is to provide education and awareness in the visual arts. Educational programming includes lectures, artist-led workshops, docent-led tours, scholarship opportunities and student travel initiatives.
  • Discovery Education Streaming
    Access to Discovery Education Streaming, please contact Robbie Rand for register/login information : rrand@carrollton.org
    Science Connection K-8
    Discovery Ed Streaming - K-12
    Discovery Education transforms classrooms and inspires teachers with engaging interactive content and services that measure and improve student ...
  • EBSCO
    EBSCOhost is a database and ebook provider that contains full-text and secondary research databases.
  • eBooks :FREE to Carrollton : OverDrive - Digital Library
    Overdrive access IS available, NOW!

    With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or IPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices! -- You need only your Carrollton email id and password! ONLY!
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
  • Flipster  
      
    Flipster is a digital magazine service provided courtesy of your library. The Flipster app manages your magazines downloaded from the Flipster website for anytime viewing on your iPad or iPad mini. Scroll down to the bottom of the EBSCO page for access to this service. See the Journals/Magazine tab for a list of titles available through Flipster. Titles included: ART IN AMERICA, THE ATLANTIC, CLOTH PAPER SCISSORS, DISCOVER, FOREIGN POLICY, NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS, NEW YORKER, POPULAR SCIENCE, SOUTHERN LIVING, TIME, VOGUE, WIRED.
  • Fuente Academica/EBSCO
    Fuente Academica is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. It offers full text of 500 publications from 18 countries.
  • Gale Research Virtual Library
    Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.
  • Goodreads
    Goodreads is a website that allows individuals to freely search Goodreads' extensive user-populated database of books, annotations, and reviews. Users can sign up and register books to generate library catalogs and reading lists.
  • Google Books
    Google Book search works just like a web search. If a book is out of copyright or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see the preview of the book and in some cases the entire text of the book.
  • Google Books - Advanced Book Search
    For Full Text: Check: Full view only
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
  • Granger's World of Poetry
    The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. It includes 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc.
  • HistoryMiami
    HistoryMiami is the premier cultural institution committed to gathering, preserving and celebrating Miami’s history through exhibitions, city tours, education, research, collections and publications.
  • Internet Archive
    Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books (audio and print), movies, software, music, and more.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - and Plant database - and many peer-reviewed publications
  • Plants - JSTOR
    Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
  • Khan Academy
    You can learn anything!
  • Lexis-Nexis
    Lexis-Nexis provides computer-assisted legal research legal research as well as business and risk solution services.
  • MLA Formatting and Style Guide
    MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
  • Mansion Maniac
    Built from digitized assets of the New York Public Library's collection of Apartment Houses of the Metropolis, this game/toy lets you explore mansion floor plans from the early 20th century in New York City.
  • Maps101 PLUS Field Trip Library
    Maps101 compliments history, social science, geography, curriculum materials includes teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, 4000 thematic maps.
  • The Map-as-History  
      
    Map-as-History is the largest online collection of animated historical maps.

    Currently, direct access to Map-as-History is only available - at school. For remote access to The Map-as-History - please request the userid and password from Robbie Rand : http://rrand@carrollton.org
  • National Archives
    The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
  • Miami-Dade Public Library
    Check for the Miami-Dade Public Library nearest you. You will need a MDPLS library card to access the library's collection - in person, or online
  • Open Syllabus Project
    The OSP is an effort to make the intellectual judgment embedded in syllabi relevant to broader explorations of teaching, publishing, and intellectual history. The project has collected over 1 million syllabi, has extracted citations and other metadata from them, and is now pleased to make the Syllabus Explorer publicly available as a means of exploring this corpus. Looking ahead, the OSP’s goal is to expand the collection and make it more useful to authors, teachers, administrators, and students.
  • Overdrive
    Popular e-books and audio books - Overdrive access IS available to the Carrollton Community, NOW!

    With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 free eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or IPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices! -- You need only your Carrollton email id and password! ONLY!
  • OWL
    The Purdue University Online Writing Lab serves writers from around the world and the Purdue University Writing Lab helps writers on Purdue's campus.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries
    Oxford Language Dictionaries offer essential language resources and is a fully-searchable bilingual dictionaries.

  • Oxford Scholarship Online - Psychology
    Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding research library, and has grown to be one of the leading academic research resources in the world. Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
  • Project Gutenberg
    Project Gutenberg (PG) is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, to "encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks".[2] It was founded in 1971 by Michael S. Hart and is the oldest digital library.[3] Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 47,000 items in its collection.
  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ is a digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the eighteenth century.
  • PubMed
    PUbMed is a database comprising more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  • Questia
    Questia is a library containing books an djornal articles on subjects such as history, philosophy, economics, political science, and includes magazine and newspaper articles. over 70,000 online full-text books. For an account, please contact Ms. Rand, http://rrand@carrollton.org
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
    Religion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
  • Science - AAS  
      
  • Scientific American - Print Facsimile
    Scientific American Print facsimile is a popular science magazine.
  • Statista.com
    Our team of trained specialists manually analyze, audit and update each of our statistics. Our attention to detail and adherence to academic archetypes not only enables us to guarantee the maintenance of high standards, but also ensures that we are fully equipped to meet the needs and expectations of our users. In conjunction with our reading supports, our easy to understand and accessible formatting techniques assist our users in gaining a solid foothold in even the most complex of areas.
    So, what are you waiting for?
  • Teaching Books
    Teaching Books is a website of multimedia dimensions. It adds to the reading experience of children's, young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books
  • Carrollton School Of The Sacred Heart Digital Library
 

Books (Full-text) in PDF format

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip