Dugarte, A. (2022, May 6). Summer Community Read Banner [Digital Graphic].
Dugarte, A. (2022, May 26). Killers of the Flower Moon Covers Banner [Digital Graphic].
Covers: Vintage; Reprint edition 2018 | Traditional Chinese 時報出版; 1st edition 2019 | Romanian Cartonata 2018 | Portuguese Companhia das Letras; 1st edition 2018 | Simon & Schuster UK 2017 | Simon & Schuster Ltd 2018 | Vintage Espanol; Illustrated edition 2019 | Chinese Peking University Press; 1st edition 2020 | US Doubleday; Later Printing edition 2017 | US Crown Books for Young Readers 2021
The Osage Murders: Oil Wealth, Betrayal and the FBI’s First Big Case
An article (p. 23-27) from the National Museum of the American Indian.
Stephey, Molly. “The Osage Murders: Oil Wealth, Betrayal and the FBI’s First Big Case.” The National Museum of the American Indian, 1 Mar. 2011
Catholic Education Among the Osage
An article (p. 290-307) from Chronicles of Oklahoma, the scholarly journal published by the Oklahoma Historical Society.
Nieberding, Velma. “Catholic Education Among the Osage.” Chronicles of Oklahoma XXXII (Autumn 1954), 290-307.
"In Killers of the Flower Moon, David Grann revisits a shocking series of crimes in which dozens of people were murdered in cold blood. Based on years of research and startling new evidence, the book is a masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, as each step in the investigation reveals a series of sinister secrets and reversals. But more than that, it is a searing indictment of the callousness and prejudice toward American Indians that allowed the murderers to operate with impunity for so long. Killers of the Flower Moon is utterly compelling, but also emotionally devastating."
Autobiography of American ballerina Maria Tallchief in which she tells how the daughter of a full-blooded Osage Indian father and a Scots-Irish mother came to be one of the world's legendary performers, and discusses her marriage to ballet master George Balanchine, her other romances, and her illustrious career.
An anthology of nature writings featuring John James Audubon's descriptions of the American wilderness and its plant and animal life, and contains excerpts from his journals, letters, and published works including profiles of wild birds and his journeys with the Osage Indians.
From Oklahoma to California, the heroes of A Calm & Normal Heart are modern-day adventurers—seeking out new places to call their own inside a nation to which they do not entirely belong. A member of the Osage tribe, author Chelsea T. Hicks’ stories are compelled by an overlooked diaspora happening inside America itself: that of young Native people.
All his life Jean Baptiste Charbonneau, son of Sacagawea and a French fur-trapper, has lived in two worlds: the Westernized world of his godfather, William Clark, and the frontier world beyond St. Louis--but he is troubled by the way Americans mistreat tribes like the Osage, Arikara, and Mandan, and as a man of mixed ancestry, he must ultimately choose which of the two heritages is more important to him.
Thomas Ryan RedCorn (Wakant’ia) is a member of the Osage Nation, and was born in Tahlequah, Oklahoma. RedCorn is a writer, filmmaker, and photographer.
The Spiders
my functional heart, where are you
what turned you into an empty glass
is it that I love the spiders & am like one
wherever I go making my house
I have only to wait & all things come to me
& therein break their necks
but a calm & normal heart
where does that come from?
Translated from the Osage language by the author
Chelsea T. Hicks is an enrolled member of the Osage Nation and lives on ancestral land in Oklahoma. In June 2022, the Osage writer and Tulsa Artist Fellow published her debut novel A Calm and Normal Heart, a collection of short stories about modern young Native women "seeking out new places to call their own inside a nation to which they do not entirely belong" (The Unnamed Press).
The following Editor's Note is taken directly from Prose from Poetry Magazine posted on Poetry Foundation
On “The Spiders”
This poem is a translation of my own work in Wazhazhe ie, a Siouan language that Wazhazhe people are now revitalizing in northeastern Oklahoma on the Osage reservation. Herman Mongrain Lookout developed the language’s orthography in the 2000s, which served to create a written language for Wazhazhe ie (which translates literally as “Osage talk”). This Wazhazhe author has written a collection of short stories incorporating Wazhazhe ie, and this poem serves as the dedication. The collection, A Calm & Normal Heart, is forthcoming from Unnamed Press later this year.
The One Book, One Community: “Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI” took place in Stillwater Public Library, along with other Stillwater locations, from March 1-April 12, 2018. This six-week series is the ninth community-wide reading series for Stillwater. There are nine programs available to view on the Stillwater Public Library page to "increase an understanding of a dark period in Oklahoma history and an appreciation of the Osage Nation."
The programming you can watch includes:
“The Osage Nation: A Brief History” with Dr. Andrea Hunter (Osage Nation Historic Preservation Office)
"The Problem of Riches: Oil Boom and Bust in Indian Country" with Dr. Katrina Lacher (Univ. of Central Oklahoma)
“Forensic Science Capabilities during the Osage Murders Compared to Today” with Dr. Dwight Adams (UCO, Forensic Science Institute)
“Osage Art” with Addie Roanhorse, artist, photographer, and senior graphic design specialist for the Osage Nation
Source: Stillwater Public Library | Community Read Events: Killers of the Flower Moon
American Indian Oral History The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. Members of every tribe resident in Oklahoma were interviewed. The collection includes the original tapes on which the interviews were recorded, as well as microfiche copies of the typescripts. The digital representation of the typescripts are organized by tribe but may be searched by interviewee, by interviewer, by tape number, or by keyword searching of the full-text of the transcript.
McGowan Theater Book Lecture Series: Uploaded to YouTube by the United States National Archives, listen to author David Grann discuss how he came about writing and researching what had occurred to members of the Osage Indian Nation during the 1920s.
Osage Nation Foundation Artist Registry: Established by the Osage Nation in 2005, the Osage Foundation helps "lessen the burdens of the tribal government by providing charitable services to the Osage Tribe and its members." The Osage Nation Foundation Artist Registry is part of their ongoing mission to support Osage Artists by providing online exposure and ways for interested parties to contact artists.
The Osage Nation Government Website: The official website of the Osage Nation, a federally-recognized Native American government. Within the website is the Osage Cultural Center which provides information on "Osage ancestral territory," "Learn to speak Osage," "View the Cultural Connection video series," "Visit the Osage Nation Museum," etc.
The Osage in Historic Newspapers: Envy, Ridicule and Racism, published in the Serial blogs of the Library of Congress on by Malea Walker.
Dugarte, A. (2022, May 6). #CarrolltonReads Book Banner [Digital Graphic].