Skip to main content

LIBRARY HOMEPAGE: LIBRARY

Founders is a college library

Library Resources

Library resources at Carrollton support rigorous academic standards and include:

  • Four libraries:  Primary & Montessori , Intermediate, Junior High, and the High School
  • Two professional full-time librarians, one Library Clerk, and one Archivist
  • 35,000 print books including thousands of digital full-text books for popular reading, reference and biographies, DVD's and others in support of the curricula
  • Over 70 magazines and newspapers subscriptions, including foreign language titles in print and digital format
  • An extensive - more than 68 - ever evolving online subscription database collection with 24/7 access from school and at home
  • An Online library catalog - to help find books on the library shelf - with access from school and at home
  • The Library of Congress Classification call number scheme used by most college and university libraries around the world is uniquely used at Founders Library.  We catalog our books using LC.  We are a college library to benefit our students as they move from our high school library to the college library.  With 65 databases and instruction in research techniques, students have a head-start  -  before they get to college!  
  • LibGuides, an important resource at Carrollton.  This software program is an easy-to-use content management system and is used at thousands of secondary and academic libraries worldwide. It is used to curate knowledge and to share information, organize classroom and subject specific resources
  • Networked facilities with access to the school portal, library catalog, subscription databases, e-books, e-periodicals, and the Internet
  • Rooms for individual and group learning and innovation

Visit our Online Catalog (click the link) to search for books and other materials in our school collection.

 

The Mission of the Library Program

 
  • Guided by the Goals and Criteria of Sacred Heart Schools, our Carrollton Libraries are key centers of learning where access to scholarly information, research support, library instruction, computing, and study facilities - are all available.  Young people, today, live in a world rich in technology and media; they are digital natives and interact with information, stories, and the world at large in new and wondrous ways. To support their imagination, there is the library - where they will find personal help whenever they need it - at school and when they are away - wherever internet access is available - through messaging, reference guides, online tutorials, and intuitive interfaces.  And, because a child's reading skills are important to their success in school and work, reading "outloud" to them - which is a fun and imaginative activity for children, that opens doors to all kinds of new worlds - is an integral part of the curricula.

 

Study

Learn

Related image 

The Library Toolkit1
 
Know your librarian: Carrollton students are guided by and are taught library skills by our librarians. At college, the librarian can play a key role in student success.
 
Read the map: Carrollton libraries are “big” – but not as big as the college library; Students become comfortable with the college library when they visit the public and nearly university libraries.
 
Learn the databases: Carrollton subscribes to more than 68subject databases. Colleges have many more research databases, sometimes hundreds of subject databases, which provide a wealth of information for academic research. Searching databases is often daunting to college freshman. While at Carrollton, our students learn how to effectively access, search, and evaluate database resources. 
 
Learn documentation styles: Students need to know how to construct citations for books, periodical articles, and database resources. Carrollton students learn how to create these citations. They learn the different documentation styles.
 
Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal systems: All college libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system and most schools use the Dewey Decimal system.  The Library of Congress system is used at Founders, the high school library. A major project over the summer of 2011, transformed the high school library collection from Dewey to LC. Students learn to recognize a call number and how to find a specific book or periodical on the shelf.
 
Learn how to search the online catalog: Students should be comfortable using the online library catalog to find the materials housed in the library. All Carrollton library materials are cataloged and are accessible in the online catalog for students to use.
 
Library services: Colleges provide interlibrary loan services. Carrollton librarians will find a book or article for a student if it is not available at the library.
 
All basic services available at the college library are available at Carrollton.

Carrollton offers:
 
• Two professional, full-time librarians, one library clerk, and one archivist.
• On-site and remote access to 68 subject e-databases such as Carrollton's Online Library Catalog; BrainPOP; CIAO; EBSCO Research Databases; Encyclopedia Britannica; Granger’s World of Poetry; Lexis-Nexis Scholastic Edition; Oxford English Dictionary; Oxford Language Dictionaries Online; Alexander Street Press: Dance in Video, Latino Literature; ARTStor; JSTOR, Maps 101; Maps as History; Project Muse, Questia; Teaching Books; Gale Virtual Reference Library; Scientific American digital edition, and more.
• 58,000 print books and thousands of e-books and audio books.
• Over 70 periodicals and magazines - many in both print and digital format and in several languages.
• Print and digital newspaper subscriptions including the Miami Herald, El Nuevo Herald Miami, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, New York Review of Books. Access to hundreds of historical newspapers searchable online through the ProQuest database.

Founders Library is located in the state of the art Cooke Building on the Barat Campus where the high school library is located. Students, faculty and staff are surrounded by a quiet room, reading alcoves, hand-stenciled ceilings and the latest technology.
 
The beautiful paneled Oak Room Library in El Jardin, is the library for the Intermediate students and is an elegant and warm place to enjoy reading books and magazines.
 
On the Duchesne Campus, the Taylor Hall Library, with its bay window overlooking the pool provides a cozy atmosphere for our Montessori and Primary students to read and study.

In the Taylor Hall living room, the Junior High Students enjoy the recently designed library and information center.

These tips were adapted from postings to the Information Literacy Instruction Discussion Listserv sponsored by the Instruction Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries and were edited by Robbie Rand, Librarian
Library Hours:  Mon - Fri, 7:45am - 5:00pm  

Image result for images St. Rose Philippine Duchesne

       

 

 

Bibliograpic Instruction

Bibliographic instruction is taught by the Librarians in a logical progression as part of the curricula. Search techniques and research are taught in collaboration, -  with teachers and their classroom assignments and projects.

Managing the Library Collections

Adding new and relevant items in print and digital formats while identifying titles that can be easily removed from the collections to include multiple copies, outdated materials, etc., are just the initial first steps in managing the collections.  Review is an ongoing task, along with a regular and timely analysis and inventory with continuing recommendations from our faculty to ensure that we will always have the most comprehensive collections for research and study at Carrollton.

Founders - High School Library

Oak Room - Intermediate Library

Junior High Library