Carrollton Libraries: Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart: DATABASES

Library Databases

Encyclopedias & General References

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia EBSCO [grades 5-8] Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship

Articles from Journals, Magazines and Newspapers:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - and Plant database - and many peer-reviewed publications

Book Reviews, Readers Advisory, Reading Lists

Teaching Books
Teaching Books is a website of multimedia dimensions. It adds to the reading experience of children's, young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books

New York Review of Books
Via Flipster. For over 50 years, The New York Review of Books has been the place where the world's leading authors, scientists, educators, artists, and political leaders turn when they wish to engage in a spirited debate on literature, politics, art, and ideas with a small but influential audience that welcomes the challenge. Each issue addresses some of the most passionate political and cultural controversies of the day, and reviews the most engrossing new books and the ideas that illuminate them.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Enterprise PreK-12 Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database is the premier resource for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes one million fiction/non-fiction children’s book and media titles, one thousand book awards including nominees, professional reviews and author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search feature includes multiple filters including keywords, publisher, author, dates, multiple reading levels and more.
QuickFind K-12 offers a unique topic-focused platform to search over 1 million book titles. Curated with students in mind, these topics lend themselves to areas of interest and provide a quick and easy way to search by popular themes. QuickFind K-12 contains over 375 topics, easily searchable through 37 'super' topics. The new Award Search feature enable users to view Award winners and nominee, including all years, Sponsor name, Awards detail.

Encyclopedia & General References

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.

Boddle: K-6 Math Game
Boddle is a FREE adaptive 3D game that makes K-6 math fun and differentiated using interactive gameplay and adaptive technology. Boddle makes identifying and closing gaps in learning super easy by automatically targeting skills needs improvement.

BrainPop Jr
Brainpop creates animated curricular content for students and supports educators.
BrainPop
Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators.
BrainPop (Español)
Brainpop, the Spanish version - creates animated, curricular content for students and supports educators. Login using Google Account

FreeRice
Freerice is an educational trivia game that helps you get smarter while making a difference for people around the world. Every question you answer correctly in the game triggers a financial payment to the World Food Programme (WFP) to support its work saving and changing lives around the world.

Worldview

CountryReports This link opens in a new window
CountryReports provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world. With unique content from around the world, our members rely on us to keep our database concise and current.

Encyclopedia & General References

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
BrainPop
Brainpop creates animated, curricular content for students, and supports educators.
MAS Ultra- School Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
School Edition provides full text for top high-school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). This database includes popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and thousands of primary source documents and videos. Subjects include history, current events, science and sports.

FreeRice
Freerice is an educational trivia game that helps you get smarter while making a difference for people around the world. Every question you answer correctly in the game triggers a financial payment to the World Food Programme (WFP) to support its work saving and changing lives around the world.

Global Perspectives

CIAO
Columbia International Affairs Online is a source for theory and research in international affairs.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world. Select a country from the menu at left of the main page to access up-to-date news and information about that country.
FactCite
Inform, inspire & empower student researchers ... FactCite Lincoln Library Online is a collection of affordable databases for researchers in grades K-12.

General Subject Areas

Advanced Placement Source (EBSCO)
Containing full text for thousands of magazines and journals, Advanced Placement Source is a multidisciplinary research database uniquely designed for students enrolled in honors-level, college-credit, Advanced Placement (AP) and International Baccalaureate (IB) courses.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines.
Academic Search Premiere (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia. It is written and continuously updated by about 100 full-time editors and more than 4,400 contributors.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - and Plant database - and many peer-reviewed publications

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
47,262 academic peer-reviewed books from 682 publishers--DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent and its services are free of charge, including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Teaching Books
Teaching Books is a website of multimedia dimensions. It adds to the reading experience of children's, young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books

History

African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides country-specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 194 independent and sovereign states of the world. Select a country from the menu at left of the main page to access up-to-date news and information about that country.
FactCite
Inform, inspire & empower student researchers ... FactCite Lincoln Library Online is a collection of affordable databases for researchers in grades K-12.
Issues & Controversies: Infobase (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies helps students understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Points of View (EBSCO)
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Newest Topics Include: Carbon Capture | Censorship and Democracy | Electoral Reform | Electric Vehicles | Free College Tuition | Political Rhetoric | Remote Learning | Supply Chain | Ukraine | Violence in the Media

ProQuest- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States:
Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality. Explore openly available primary sources about Black Freedom in the U.S.
The Black Freedom Struggle website is freely available to students, educators and patrons. This curated selection is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans.

Literature/English

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases.
Digital Theatre +
Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. Today, Digital Theatre+ delivers engaging learning experiences for ELA and Theatre to students and educators in over 3,000 schools, colleges, and universities in 90+ countries.
Granger's World of Poetry
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages. Remote access is via username/password for Granger's.
Literary Reference Center PLUS (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Definitive literary database covering all genres & time periods. Includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
The Victorian Web
Literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria.

Science

Science - AAAS
Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. The Science family of publications has grown to include online journals Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Immunology, Science Robotics, and the open access journal Science Advances.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

American Astronomical Society (AAS)
Research results in astronomy, solar physics, and planetary science are about to become more widely accessible to scientists and the public alike. The American Astronomical Society (AAS), a leading nonprofit professional association for astronomers; Astronomical Journal (AJ), the Astrophysical Journal (ApJ), Astrophysical Journal Letters (ApJL), and the Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series (ApJS); the Planetary Science Journal, the AAS’s newest journal published in partnership with its Division for Planetary Sciences, is already fully open access.
HHMI: Biointeractive
Our stories anchor a variety of classroom resources based on peer-reviewed science. From data-rich activities and case studies to high-quality videos and interactive media, our resources are designed to connect students to big ideas in biology, promote engagement with science practices, and instill awe and wonder about the living world.
Hindawi
Open Access publishing for the scientific community. Maximizing the impact of research through openness. Because science works best when research is open.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Focusing on a specific area within life and health science, run by leading academics and practicing researchers and publish significant new research in their respective fields, along with commentary and review.
Includes journals:
PLOS ONE PLOS Biology PLOS Computational Biology PLOS Genetics
PLOS Medicine PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases PLOS Pathogens

PubMed
PUbMed is a database comprising more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science in the Classroom
Science in the Classroom (SitC) is a collection of freely available annotated research papers from the Science family of journals. SitC aims to help educators, undergraduates, and advanced high school students understand the research contained in scientific primary literature by using annotations and providing accompanying teaching materials.

Science.gov
"Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results." Spanish Version: Ciencia.gov

Mathematics

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
MacTutor is a free online resource containing biographies of more than 3000 mathematicians and over 2000 pages of essays and supporting materials.
Mathworld
This is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a German online platform specialized in data gathering and visualization, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French.
zbMATH
Zentralblatt MATH is the world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. The ZBMATH Database contains about 2.9 million entries drawn from about 3500 journals and 1100 serials from 1826 to present.

Religion & Philosophy

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials (EBSCO)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a combined index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on social issues.
EBSCO: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.

Visual & Performing Arts

ARTstor
The Artstor Digital Library is a resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Digital Theatre +
Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. Today, Digital Theatre+ delivers engaging learning experiences for ELA and Theatre to students and educators in over 3,000 schools, colleges, and universities in 90+ countries.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship

World Languages

Fuente Académica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica includes full-text journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain covering many academic disciplines.
Granger's World of Poetry
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages. Remote access is via username/password for Granger's.

Free online Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary
Free online Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary in both simplified and traditional characters. Can be a bit confusing to use, but very informative. Along with pinyin, you can also use bopomofo (ㄅㄆㄇㄈ) to find your Chinese character (click on the Dictionary link, then the Browse bopomofo link).

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Digital History
Using new technologies to enhance teaching and research.
Digital Public Library Access (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.
eScholarship
eScholarship® provides scholarly publishing and repository services that enable departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.
JURN
JURN is a unique search tool, helping you to find free academic articles and books. JURN harnesses all the power of Google, but focusses your search through a hand-crafted and curated index
National Geographic Education
The National Geographic Education website at NatGeoEd.org offers free geography, science, and social studies resources for K-12 educators and students. These highly engaging, multimedia materials maximize learning in and out of the classroom.
National Geographic Kids
Teachers and Parents can use the games, videos, and other resources to teach kids about animals, other countries, science, and related topics.
Science Direct
1.4 million articles on ScienceDirect are open access. Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made freely available for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the user license displayed on the article.
Smithsonian History Explorer
Smithsonian's History Explorer was developed by the National Museum of American History in partnership with the Verizon Foundation to offer hundreds of free, innovative online resources for teaching and learning American history. The site is designed for use by K-12 teachers and students, afterschool program providers, families, and individuals interested in lifelong learning.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
It seeks to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. Click on RESOURCES on the top right tab to access UNESCO LISTS like the World Heritage List, DATA AND STATISTICS like their institute for statistics, ARCHIVES, & LIBRARY

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
United Nations Digital Library
NEW Explore documents, voates, speeches, public domain publications and more.

Professional Development and Education Resources

Discovery Education
Access via your google credentials. Discovery Education transforms classrooms and inspires teachers with engaging interactive content and services that measure and improve student ...

Swank K12 Streaming
Swank Motion Pictures’ film streaming platform, Swank K-12 Streaming, offers exclusive access to the largest single library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films available to K-12 schools for instructional support. Featuring over 30,000 movies, Swank’s cloud-hosted streaming platform eliminates common obstacles – such as the lack of DVD players, blocked personal streaming sites and DVD library maintenance. Plus, teachers can easily assign films to students outside the classroom through any Learning Management System.

PLEASE NOTE: FILMS THAT REQUIRE A REQUEST MUST BE MADE AT LEAST A WEEK IN ADVANCE.

How to Access Swank K-12 Streaming
Click on this document for brief instructions on how to request a film through Swank K-12 Streaming.
PLEASE NOTE: FILMS THAT REQUIRE A REQUEST MUST BE MADE AT LEAST A WEEK IN ADVANCE.

Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

Education Resources Information Center
an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
TedEd
TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world.
Library of Congress - Classroom
Created by teachers for teachers, these ready-to-use materials provide easy ways to incorporate the Library's unparalleled primary sources into instruction.
NASA STEM Engagement
NASA STEM Engagement has developed a series of STEM products and opportunities that provide a platform for students to contribute to NASA's endeavors in exploration and discovery.
The New York Times- Learning Network
A weekly collection of lesson plans, writing prompts and activities from The Learning Network, a site that helps educators and students teach and learn with The New York Times.
Illuminations
lluminations is a project designed by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM). Access to quality standards-based resources for teaching and learning mathematics, including interactive tools for students and instructional support for teachers.
Learning for Justice
Free resources to educators from kindergarten through high school; materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, & to create inclusive school communities where children and youth are respected, valued and welcome participants.
National Education Association - Resource Library
Whether you're focused on your classroom, community, or capitol, NEA has tools to help you transform teaching and learning.
PBS Learning Media
Inspire your students with thousands of free teaching resources including videos, lesson plans, and games aligned to state and national standards.
PhET - Interactive Simulations
PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. The simulations are written in Java, Flash or HTML5, and can be run online or downloaded to your computer. All simulations are open source.
ReadWriteThink
ReadWriteThink's mission is to provide educators, parents, and afterschool professionals with access to the highest quality practices in reading and language arts instruction by offering the very best in free materials.
Stanford History Education Group
SHEG seeks to improve education by conducting research, working with school districts, and reaching directly into classrooms with free materials for teachers and students.
Anneberg Learner
As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers.