Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Author Visits: Remy Lai, Erin Entrade Kelly, Celia Perez
Erin Entrade Kelly, Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author transports readers to 1986 as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the Space Shuttle Challenger. Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas, siblings in seventh grade, have their own struggles in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. The Intermediate students enjoyed their virtual visit with Ms. Kelly as she spoke about her writing process and gave them a tour of her home office.
Celia Perez: Intermediate students welcomed Celia Perez and her new book, Strange Birds - A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers. Juliana Xydas's zine was chosen as most creative and she had the honor of introducing Ms. Perez. Many of the students were familiar with her first book, The First Rule of Punk, a 2018 Pura Belpre Author Honor book award winner. Strange Birds is an inspiring story about the power of truth, and of true friends.
The Dewey Decimal System
000 GENERAL KNOWLEDGE
100 PHILOSOPHY & PSYCHOLOGY
300 SOCIAL SCIENCES
700 ARTS & RECREATION
900 HISTORY & GEOGRAPHY
Gemeral Research Databases
African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Alexander Street : Dance in Video
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. It is an overview of 20th century concert dance, including forerunners of modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation.
American National Biography
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
The Art Story is about ideas for people, not citations for academics. Read more on our approach.
CountryReports provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world.
- Gale Research Virtual Library
Gale databases focus on the humanities, theology, ethnic studies, music, women's studies and more. It contains peer reviewed journals, conference papers, and periodicals.Google Books gives you a preview of the book or if out of copyright or publisher gives permission.
- Granger's World of Poetry
The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text, 450,000 citations. English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages. Remote access is via username/password for Granger's. Ask Robbie Rand; email@example.com
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities. -
- Maps101 PLUS Field Trip Library
Maps101 compliments history, social science, geography, curriculum materials includes teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, 4000 thematic maps.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
- National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
- Plants - JSTOR
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- Swank - Tutorial
A brief tutorial to help you get started with the Swank movie database
- Teaching Books
Teaching Books is a website to enhance the reading experience for students. It includes a multitude of resources for fiction or non-fiction books.