Carrollton Libraries: ENGLISH: Oedipus the King

Honors English I

Research Paper Assignment: Oedipus the King

Oedipus and the Sphinx

Books in Founders Library

Greek Tragedy by Humphrey D. Kitto
Call Number: PA3131 .K5 1961

ISBN: 9780415058964

Publication Date: 1990-12-31

Sublocation: US
The Greek Plays by James Romm (Editor); Sophocles; Aeschylus; Euripides; Mary Lefkowitz (Editor)
Call Number: PA3463 .G74 2017

ISBN: 9780812983098

Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Sublocation: US
Femininity Lost and Regained by Robert A. Johnson
Call Number: 155.3 JOH

ISBN: 9780060920630

Publication Date: 1991-03-01

Sublocation: US
Oedipus Plays of Sophocles by Sophocles; Paul Roche (Translator)
Call Number: 882 SOP

ISBN: 0451628241

Publication Date: 1958-09-01

Sublocation: US

The Project Gutenberg eBook: The Oedipus Trilogy by Sophocles

Possible Secondary Sources for Research

Oedipus the King: Options for Research

Electronic Resources

Bloom's Literature: Oedipus Rex
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, James Wyatt Cook, 2017

"Why we continually Misinterpret Classical Tragedy: Ancient Greek Law within the Tragic Tradition"
Adams, J. L. (2018). “Why we continually Misinterpret Classical Tragedy: Ancient Greek Law within the Tragic Tradition”, Athens: ATINER'S Conference Paper Series, No: MDT2017-2371.

Competing Constructions of Masculinity in Ancient Greece
Athens Journal of Humanities & Arts - Volume 1, Issue 1 – Pages 21-32. https://doi.org/10.30958/ajha.1-1-2

Books Recommended

While the following books are not available to checkout in Founders Library, they may be available via the Miami-Dade Public Library and may be sold through major and second-hand bookstores.

Sophocles's Oedipus Rex by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0877549184

Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Oedipus Casebook by Mark Rogin Anspach; William Blake Tyrrell; Sophocles
ISBN: 9781611863390

Publication Date: 2020-02-01

Library Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1500 searchable academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities - and Plant database - and many peer-reviewed publications
Literary Reference Center PLUS (EBSCO)
Definitive literary database covering all genres & time periods. Includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

Quick Access

SORA (Carrolton's Digital Library)
With OverDrive, you can borrow and enjoy over 7,000 FREE eBooks, audiobooks, and more from OUR library's digital collection. You can download to your Kindle, or iPhone or on your computer, or, many more devices!

more... less...

Username & Password: Same as your Carrollton Email Information.